Norfolk: Thwaite All Saints


William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845

[Transcription copyright © Richard Johns]

THWAITE, or Thwayte, a small scattered village, on a pleasant acclivity, above a small rivulet, 4 miles N. of Aylsham, has in its parish 170 souls, and 608 acres, of which 482A. are assessable, and 50 are common. The Earl of Orford owns most of the soil, and is lord of the manor.

The CHURCH, (All Saints,) has a round tower, and the living is a rectory, valued in the King's Book [at] £7, and now having about 7A. of glebe, and a yearly rent of £200, awarded in 1840, in lieu of tithes. The Bishop of Norwich is patron, and the Rev. John Stewart, of Erpingham, is the incumbent.

Mr. Stewart was for many years with the army in Spain, &c., and is author of several excellent poems; sermons on the past, present, and future state of the Jews; and of two series of "Bible Gems." These works evince a fine poetical imagination, and a pure devotional spirit, and have obtained for the reverend author the name of "the Gessner of England."

Mrs. Lydia Baret, who has an estate and neat mansion in the parish, erected two School Rooms, with a house for the teachers, in 1835, at a cost of about £800. She supports the schools, on the national system, for the education of about 80 children.


         Baret     Mrs. Lydia   Alby Hill
         Bradford  John         shoemaker
         Chapman   Wm.          shopkeeper
         Cook      John         farmer, Hall
         Silence   John         blacksmith
         Silence   Sarah        schoolmrs.
         Woolsey   Mr. Fdk.

See also the Thwaite All Saints parish page.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
August 1999