Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Tilney All Saints

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Tilney All Saints

Primary tabs

"TILNEY ALL SAINTS is a scattered village and parish, with several neat houses, 4 miles W.S.W. of Lynn, containing 441 inhabitants, and about 2,600 acres of land, exclusive of 150 acres of the old bed of the river Ouse. Edward Bagge, Esq., owns a great part of the soil, and is lord of the manor of Tinley-cum-Islington [sic], . . .  The Rev. J.H.S. Cary, of Farnham, Surrey, has also a large estate here; the heirs of the late Right Hon. W. Huskisson are lords of Berry manor; and Colonel Moorwood is lord of Kenwick manor; besides which, some other manors extend into this parish. Robert Pitcher, Esq., of Lynn, has an estate here. The CHURCH, dedicated to All Saints,  . . . The living is a vicarage, with that of Tilney St. Lawrence annexed to it, valued in the King's Book at £30, and in 1831 at £299. It is now enjoyed by the Rev. Charles Currie, M.A. The advowson, and appropriation of the rectorial tithes, are in Pembroke Hall, Cambridge, by a grant from Edward III., in the 32nd year of his reign. The glebe is 46 acres; and the Church Land 19 acres. The Wesleyans have a chapel here, built in 1843. " [William White History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

topup
topup
topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Lynn Marshland, in the archdeaconry of Norwich.
  • The parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
topup

Church History

The Fen and Marshland Churches
This includes Tilney All Saints.
See Walsoken.
Church of All Saints
Description of the bells and picture of the church.
Church of All Saints
Description and pictures.
topup

Church Records

Marriages
These are not included in Boyd's Marriage Index or Phillimore's Marriage Registers.
Parish Registers
Baptisms and Burials
Archdeacon's Transcripts
Marriages
Strays - These are people in Tilney All Saints parish registers who are from another parish.
Strays in the Baptisms
Strays in the Marriages
Strays in the Burials
Stallard, Arthur Dudley
Transcript of the churchwardens' accounts of the parish of Tilney All Saints, Norfolk, 1143 to 1589.
[London, Mitchell Hughes, 1922]
topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), Tilney All Saints was in Wisbech Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Tilney All Saints which are provided by:

topup
topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tilney All Saints to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

Tilney All Saints is in Freebridge Marshland hundred.

You can see the administrative areas in which Tilney All Saints has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup
topup

Military Records

Roll of Honour
World Wars 1 and 2.
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • After 1834 Tilney All Saints became part of the Wisbech Union, and the workhouse was at Wisbech in Cambridgeshire.
topup