Hide

East Walton

hide
Hide

"WALTON, (EAST) a small but scattered village, 9 miles E.S.E. of Lynn, has within its parish 196 inhabitants, and 2,700 acres, of which a warren of about 450A., was enclosed in 1841; and about the same quantity of open heath is about to be enclosed, though most of the parish has a light sandy soil, much blown about by the wind in dry weather. Anthony Hamond, Esq., owns the whole, except about 60A., and is lord of the manor, and patron of the CHURCH, which is dedicated to St. Mary, and is a vicarage valued in the King's Book at £6 3s. 4d., and enjoyed by the Rev. George Coldham, M.A., of Glemsford, Suffolk. In 1841, the vicarial tithes were commuted for £178, and the rectorial tithes for £230 per annum. The latter belong to the Bishop of Norwich. The church is an ancient fabric, with a round tower; and in the garden of a farm-house is the ivy mantled tower of St. Andrew's Chapel, which was appropriated, with the church, to Westacre priory. "[William White, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk (1845) - Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

Hide

See also West Walton.

Hide
topup

Church Directories

  • In 1883 the parish was in the Deanery of Lynn Norfolk, in the archdeaconry of Norwich.
  • The parish church is dedicated to St Mary.
    There was also a chapel dedicated to St Andrew.
topup

Church History

Church of St Mary
Description and pictures.
Church of St Mary
Pictures of the church.
Church of St Mary
Services, etc.
Daubeney, Andrew Robert Vaughan
Gayton Thorpe with East Walton, Norfolk: notes and sketches of the churches.
[Norwich, Goose and Son, 1922]
Chapel of St Andrew
Description and pictures.
topup

Church Records

Marriages 1560-1837
See Phillimore's Marriage Registers, Volume 10.
Marriages
These are included in Boyd's Marriage Index.
Extracts from the parish registers
Mr Denton, the curate, and his sisters.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Church Records

topup

Civil Registration

For the civil registration of births, marriages and deaths between 1837 and 1930 (and for the censuses from 1851 to 1901), East Walton was in Freebridge Lynn Registration District.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Civil Registration

topup

Description & Travel

East Walton
Description, history and pictures.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Description and Travel

You can see pictures of East Walton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

East Walton is in Freebridge Lynn hundred.

You can see the administrative areas in which East Walton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Daubeney, Andrew Robert Vaughan
Gayton Thorpe otherwise Aleswey Thorpe with East Walton, Norfolk: some odds and ends.
[King's Lynn, George R. Orwell, 1924]
topup

Maps

Parish outline and location.
See Parish Map for Freebridge Lynn Registration District, 1836
and nearby places.

See also Norfolk Parish Links: Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF744162 (Lat/Lon: 52.715603, 0.579785), East Walton which are provided by:

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

topup

Population

These figures are from the population tables which were produced after the 10-yearly national censuses. The "Families" heading includes families and single occupiers.

Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
18013535151
18112032174
18212040174
18313742220
184136--196
185137--202
Year  Inhabited
Houses
FamiliesPopulation
186136--175
18713842160
18814242183
18914242174
19013737148
1911--37173

There may be more people living in detached parts of the parish (if there were any) and, if so, the number may or may not be included in the figures above. It is quite difficult to be sure from the population tables.