Hide
Holcot
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"HOLCOT, a parish in the hundred of Hamfordshoe, county Northampton, 7 miles N.E. of Northampton, its post town, and 8 W. of Wellingborough, situated on a branch of the river Nen. The tithes were commuted for land and money payments under the Enclosure Act of 1777. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Peterborough, value £345. The church, dedicated to St. Mary and All Saints, is an ancient structure, with a tower containing a clock and three bells. A new vestry has been recently erected. The parochial charities produce about £27 per annum. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Baptists."[From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868). Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Hide
| Holcot, Church of England |
A book recounting the history of the church of St Mary and All Saints, including a guided tour of the church, has been produced by Derek Charman (20 pages include illustrations. Published in 1986 by Derek Charman and Associates, PO Box 35, Northampton Chambers, Berridge Street, Leicester LE1 5JX)
The Northamptonshire Record Office holds copies of:
- Church of England parish registers from 1559-1964
- Bishop's Transcripts of Church of England parish registers from 1709-1873
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"HOLCOT, a parish in the hundred of Hamfordshoe, county Northampton, 7 miles N.E. of Northampton, its post town, and 8 W. of Wellingborough, situated on a branch of the river Nen. The tithes were commuted for land and money payments under the Enclosure Act of 1777. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Peterborough, value £345. The church, dedicated to St. Mary and All Saints, is an ancient structure, with a tower containing a clock and three bells. A new vestry has been recently erected. The parochial charities produce about £27 per annum. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Baptists."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Holcot to another place.
Extract for Holcot from 'The Northamptonshire Village Book', compiled by the Northamptonshire Federation of Women's Institutes
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP797695 (Lat/Lon: 52.317894, -0.832429), Holcot which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.