Hide

Barnby in the Willows

hide
Hide

"Barnby in the Willows is a small village and parish, on the River Witham, which divides it from Lincolnshire, 4 miles east-south-east of Newark. It has 294 inhabitants, and 1,703 acres of land at the rateable value of £2,339 19s 11d. The principal land owners are Henry Gilbert Esq., J. Handley Esq., John Oliver, John Birlett, William Daybell, George Steele and the Rev. John Steele, besides several smaller freeholders, the former of whom built Barnby Manor in 1848, a large neat residence.
The church is a plain structure, with a tower, and dedicated to All Saints. It was repaired and partly new-pewed in 1843. The vicarage, valued in the King's books at £5 9s 9½d, is in the patronage of Southwell Collegiate Church, and the incumbency of the Rev. John Loxley M.A. The tithes were commuted in 1841, the great tithe for £140. Henry Gilbert Esq. has a one-sixth part, and Henry Nevile a one-fifth part. The small tithe was commuted for £219 to the vicar. A neat national school for boys and girls was erected in 1850, by subscription, aided by a grant from the National Society. A neat Methodist Chapel was built in 1825."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the upper churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2017.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Bassingham sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
     
  • We have a list of Lincolnshire-born residents from the 1891 census for those who are curious.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 862
1861 R.G. 9 / 2477
1871 R.G. 10 / 3540
1891 R.G. 12 / 2712

I have been told that the 1861 census records for Barnby in the Willows is "missing". If you have even a partial extract of that census, please contact the site maintainer,

topup

Church History

  • There was a Christian church here at the time of the 1086 Domesday Survey.
     
  • The existing church appears to be a 13th century structure on Front Street.
     
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
     
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the 15th century church tower on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2012.
     
  • The church seats 120.
     
  • The church was in the No. 1 Deanery of Newark.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of All Saints' Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2005.
     
  • Tim HEATON also has a photograph of Church of All Saints on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2014.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1560.
     
  • The parish was in the #1 deanery of Newark.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here in 1825 thru 1912.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Bassingham sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration started in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

Barnby in the Willows is a village and a parish just 4 miles east of Newark, 20 miles from Nottingham city and 128 miles north of the city of London. Across the River Witham is Lincolnshire.

The Shire Dyke is the small stream that flows along the south edge of the village and empties into the River Witham. If you are planning a visit:

  • The parish has a Home Page with a history, a detailed map and photographs.
     
  • The nearest railway stop is Newark.
     
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2010. Stop by when they are open and ask to see the schedule of forth-coming events.
     
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the Church Bridge on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2010. This allows you a quick trip into Lincolnshire.
     
  • J. Hannan-BRIGGS has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2013.
     
You can see pictures of Barnby in the Willows which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Barnby in the Willows has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

J. THOMAS has a photograph of the Willow Tree Inn on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2012. The inn is on the west side of the village.

topup

Manors

Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of Barnby Hall on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2017.

In 1912, Algernon John Frederick PLATT resided in the Manor House.

topup

Maps

  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
     
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK858525 (Lat/Lon: 53.062867, -0.721108), Barnby in the Willows which are provided by:

topup

Military History

  • The War Memorial is located over the door in the south wall of the church chancel. It lists the four men of Barnby lost in World War One.
topup

Military Records

The Newark Great War Bulletin for January 1st, 1915 tells us who had volunteered to fight in the Great War (C. FENTON of Flawford Cottages).

A photograph of the War Memorial plaque and a transcription can be found at the Southwell Churches History Project site.

The names listed on the War Memorial are:

  • Edward JONES, son of Thomas and Betsy JONES
  • William MILLS
  • Walter PARISH, son of John and Emma PARISH
  • Bert POWERS, son of Mr. T. and Mrs. R. POWERS
topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the south division of the ancient Newark Wapentake (Hundred) in the eastern (or southern) division of the county.
     
  • In 1884, the hamlet of Flawford was amalgamated into this parish.
     
  • You may contact the Barnby in the Willows Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but please do NOT ask them to do any family history work for you.
     
  • Currently, the parish was is listed as in the Newark and Sherwood district of the county.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Newark petty session hearings.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

 Year Inhabitants
1801 195
1851 294
1861 302
1871 224
1881 232
1891 252
1901 217
topup

Schools

  • A National School (mixed) was built here in 1850.