Hide

Blyth

hide
Hide

"This extensive parish, which is partly in Yorkshire, is nearly eight miles in length, stretching from Barnby Moor, northward to Finningley Park. It is intersected by the River Idle, the Great North Road, and the turnpikes leading from Tickhill to Worksop and Gainsborough. It contains the two chapelries of Bawtry and Austerfield, both of which are in Yorkshire, the former containing only 270 acres of land, and the latter 2,700 acres. It also comprises, besides the township of Blyth, those of Barnby-Moor-with-Bilby, Hodsock-with-Goldthorpe, Ranskill, part of Styrrup-with-Oldcoates, and Torworth. The entire parish contains 3,900 inhabitants, and 15,500 acres of land, mostly a fertile sandy soil." [White's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

The War Memorial and Cemetery are located along the southern edge of the village just off the A634.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Worksop Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 849
1861 R.G. 9 / 2413 & 2420
1871 R.G. 10 / 3461
1891 R.G. 12 / 2639 & 2645
1911 R.G. 14 / 2024
topup

Church History

  • A benedictine Priory dedicated to Saint Mary was founded here in 1088.
     
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Martin.
     
  • The church was built in Norman times.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Blyth Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2005.
     
topup

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers date from 1557.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists and the Primitive Methodists each had a chapel here.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel in Torworth in 1912.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Worksop Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

The village, township and parish of Blyth lies approximately 145 miles north of London and 6 miles NNE of Worksop. Part of the ancient parish lies in Yorkshire.

The village lies on the River Ryton. The hamlet of Hodsock lies to the south-west and the hamlet and Township of "Torworth" is astride the Great North Road to the east. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village is on the A1 motorway at the southern end of the Doncaster bypass. The A634 from Latby to Barnby Moor passes thru the village also.
     
  • How to know when you are there? There's a Sign!.
     
  • The village publishes the "Blyth Bulletin" with stories about local events and personalities 4 times per year.
     
topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Blyth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • There is an online History of Blyth with photographs of the church interior on the Nottinghamshire History website.
     
  • Roger GEACH has a photograph of the Blyth green on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.
     
  • Neal THEASBY has a photograph of the White Swan on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2015.
     
  • Andrew HILL has a photograph of the Huntsman Inn, Torworth on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2010.
     
  • Here are the names of the proprietors or victuallers that appear in various directories for the Huntsman Inn:
     
Year Person
1885 -- Not listed --
1904 Charles Edgar MORGAN
1912 Mrs. Esther SPEAKMAN
topup

Manors

  • Blyth Hall was a Tudor style manor house, built of stone in 1684-85.
     
  • The Hall was demolished in 1972.
     
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK624873 (Lat/Lon: 53.378876, -1.063436), Blyth which are provided by:

topup

Medical Records

topup

Military History

Francis WILLEY, 1st Baron Barnby, resided at Blyth Hall and was appointed High Sheriff of Nottinghamshire for 1908. He was an officer of the 2nd West Riding of Yorkshire Artillery Volunteers until his resignation in April 1891.

The War Memorial cenotaph was dedicated in August 1923 on the High Street at Ridley Park near the village cemetery. 465 names are listed on the plaques. Details can be found at the Imperial War Museum website.

topup

Military Records

In 1912, Captain Percival Naylor KENT of the Nottinghamshire Yeomanry was a resident here. He was a Captain in the Dragoon Guards in 1901 and served in the 1st Imperial Light Horse during the Boer War.

The Worksop Guardian has this column from 26 April 1918:

It is with great regret that we record the death in France of Lieut. Col. P. N. Kent. Col. Kent was long in resident at Blyth where he was very popular and respected buy all. A sidesman in the Parish Church and one always ready to give assistance in any kind of work, he will be sadly missed. His two sons are serving their King and Country. We would like to offer our deepest sympathy to Mrs. Kent, her daughter, and her sons in their great loss.
topup

Politics & Government

  • The portion of the parish in Nottinghamshire was in the Hatfield division of the ancient Bassetlaw Wapentake in the northern division of the county.
     
  • This entry appears in the Bawtry parish register:
31 Jul 1858: Bawtry was separated from Blyth and with Austerfield was made a distinct parish under the name of the parish of Bawtry with Austerfield by order in Council signed on 31 Jul 1858. R HINES curate of Bawtry
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Retford petty session hearings held in West Retford.
     
  • The parish had two almshouses as well as dwellings for six poor persons in 1881.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the Torworth Township became part of the East Retford Poor Law Union.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, the rest of this parish became part of the Worksop Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

Year Barnby Moor Blyth Hodsock Torworth
1801 141 589 157 143
1851 261 765 205 258
1881   618 220  
1901 213 540 227 213
topup

Schools

  • The Saint Mary and Saint Martin School was built in 1939.