Hide

Cuckney

hide
Hide

"(Norton) Cuckney parish extends eastward from Creswell Crags, in Derbyshire, to near Thoresby Park, and is bounded on the north by Welbeck, and on the south by Church Warsop. It is watered by the small River Poulter, and contains 1,757 inhabitants and 5,127 acres of good forest land, principally sand, but partly clay, black vegetable, and hazel loam soils, all enclosed, but partly in plantations and extensive pastures, and is divided into four townships - Cuckney, Holbeck, Langwith, and Norton (Cuckney). Cuckney parish participates in Dame Frances Pierrepont's charity, of which the chapter of Southwell are trustees. Cuckney is a neat, well-built, pleasant village on the Poulter, 5 miles south by south-west of Worksop, and 6 miles north-west of Ollerton, containing 600 souls and 1,095 acres of land. Here are two large mills, for spinning cotton and grinding corn, with the ruins of a cotton mill which was burnt down in 1792, occasioned by the carelessness of a boy taking hot cinders from a grate in a wooden coal-skep and leaving it in one of the upper rooms. The fire was first discovered by the postman, who rode through the village at three o'clock in the morning. He gave an alarm, and every assistance was got as quick as possible, but by eight it was burnt to the ground."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

Ian S. has a photograph of the church graveyard on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2015.

Andrew HILL also has a photograph of the Churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2012.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the Carburton sub-district of the Worksop Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 849
1861 R.G. 9 / 2422
1871 R.G. 10 / 3463
1891 R.G. 12 / 2647
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
     
  • Older records give the church as dedicated to Saint Michael, but this is clearly incorrect.
     
  • The church was built in the 12th century.
     
  • The church was restored in 1907.
     
  • The church seats 400.
     
  • The church is a Grade I listed building with British Heritage.
     
  • Tim HEATON has a photograph of the Church of St. Mary on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2009.
     
  • And Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2012.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1632.
     
  • Brian JOHNSON has transcriptions of the Norton Cuckney Parish Registers on his website.
     
  • here was a small Methodist chapel here in 1885.
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Carburton sub-district of the Worksop Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

This village and parish lies in North-west Nottingham just east of the Derbyshire border at Whaley Thorns. Worksop is 5 miles north and Mansfield about 5 miles south. The River Poulter runs through the parish.

There are three other villages in the parish: Holbeck, Langwith and Norton. If you are planning a visit:

  • Nottingham city provides daily bus service.
     
  • Tim HEATON provides a photograph of the Norton Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2009.
     
You can see pictures of Cuckney which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

John Marius WILSON's "Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72" described Cuckney as:

"CUCKNEY, a village, a township, and a parish in Worksop district, Notts. The village stands 5½ miles S by W of Worksop r. station, and 8 N by E of Mansfield; has a post office under Mansfield; and was once a market-town. The township includes also the hamlets of Bonbusk and Milnthorpe. Pop., 540."
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cuckney has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

The village feast was held on the second Sunday after New Michaelmas Day (29 Sept.).

In 1853 there were two large watermills on the river Poulter in Cuckney, one for cotton, one for corn. An earlier cotton mill had burnt down in 1792.

Neil THEASBY has a photograph of "The Greendale Oak Inn" on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2016.

Here the Greendale Inn Proprietors from earlier Directories:

Year Person
1885 Robert COLLINGHAM, vict.
1904 Robert COLLINGHAN
topup

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK566714 (Lat/Lon: 53.236624, -1.153444), Cuckney which are provided by:

topup

Military History

Ian S. has a photograph of the War Memorial tablet in St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2015.

There is also a World War I Roll of Honour hanging in St. Mary's Church.

There are three stained glass windows in St. Mary's church dedicated to the memory of the men of the Sherwood Foresters who died in combat.

topup

Military Records

You can see the list of names from the Roll of Honour at the Nottinghamshire War Memorials site. By clicking on a name you can see what details they have on file.

A brass plaque under the three stained glass windows lists these men.

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient Township in Nottingham county and was incorporated as a separate modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Bassetlaw Wapentake (Hundred) in the northern division of the county.
     
  • District governance is provided by the Bassetlaw District Council.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Worksop petty session hearings.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Worksop Poor Law Union.
     
topup

Population

 Year Cuckney Holbeck Langwith Norton
1811 397 226 361 289
1851 620 255 275 398
1901 489 224 322 277
topup

Schools

An Infants School was built here in 1875 to hold 90 children.

Cuckney Church of England Primary School took over one of the mills on the Poulter River and now has 140 pupils on its roll.