Hide

South Collingham

hide
Hide

"South Collingham parish includes the southern part of the village of Collingham, and hamlets of Brough and Danethorpe, distant two and a half miles to the south-east. It has 834 inhabitants and 3,230 acres of land, valued at £3,440. The Earl of Stamford is principal owner, and lord of the manor, which he holds on a lease under the Dean and Chapter of Peterborough, whose bishop has the advowson of the rectory, which is valued in the King's books at £14 1s 10½d, now at £418, and is enjoyed by the Rev. Joseph Mayor.
The church, dedicated to St John the Baptist, is a large ancient structure, and consists of a nave and two side aisles, with a tower in which are five bells, put up in 1841. The arches on the south side of the name are all pure Saxon, and are supposed to have formed part of the priory church, which is traditionally reported to have stood at Collingham. In the parish are two Wesleyan chapels, one at Collingham and the other at Brough. A National School was built in 1839 by subscription, which will accommodate 150 children, the average number being 130. On the Fosse Road is the site of the Crocolana of Antonius, now occupied by the village of Brough, where pots, urns, bricks and coins, termed Brough pennies, have been dug up at various periods. Danethorpe, which occupies an eminence a little to the south of Brough, had anciently a chapel annexed to Hawton."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

David THOMPSON has a photograph of the South Collingham branch library on geo-graph, taken in June, 2016.

The main Collingham LIbrary is on High Street near the War Memorial Hall.

topup

Bibliography

Trevor FRECKNALL, "Collingham and District in the Great War," Sept. 2015, Collingham History Society, 160 pages.

topup

Census

  • The parish was in the North Collingham sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
     
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
     
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 862
1851 H.O. 107 / 2136
1861 R.G. 9 / 2476
1871 R.G. 10 / 3539
1891 R.G. 12 / 2711
topup

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Baptist. The church is on Church Street.
     
  • The arches on the north aisle of the church date from 1120 - 1130, other portions date to 1230 - 1250. Most of the fabric of the building has been dated to 1350 - 1360.
     
  • The church was restored in 1863.
     
  • The church tower was restored in 1886.
     
  • The church seats 280.
     
  • Christine HASMAN has a photograph of the Church of St. John the Baptist on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2004.
     
  • Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of the Church tower on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2016.
     
  • Julian P. GUFFOGG has a photograph of the Church Chancel on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2016.
     
  • It is believed that Brough hamlet once had a Christian church.
     
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Brough church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2011.
     
topup

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1558.
     
  • The Family History Library only has the Bishop's Transcripts for 1609-1845 on microfilm.
     
  • Phillimore's Nottingham Marriages, volume 19, covers up to 1837.
     
  • Also, you can search the East Trent Genealogy site for church records.
     
  • The parish was in the deanery of Collingham.
     
  • Tim HEATON has a photograph of the former Baptist chapel on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2009.
     
  • Chris MORGAN has a photograph of the Methodist Church in High Street on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2016.
     
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel in Brough by 1881.
     
  • Trevor RICKARD has a photograph of the Brough Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2011.
     
topup

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North Collingham sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
     
  • Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
     
topup

Description & Travel

South Collingham is a township and a parish adjoining North Collingham, both about 125 miles north of London. The parish border encompasses over 2,800 acres and includes the hamlets of Brough and Danethorpe, both about 2 miles south-west of South Collingham village.

The combined village of Collingham sits on the banks of the River Fleet about 6 miles from Newark-on-Trent. Brough was a Roman station on the Fossway. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A1133 off of the A46 motorway.
     
  • You may wish to check out the Village website for its map and information.
     
You can see pictures of South Collingham which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Genealogy

The composer John BLOW was baptised in Collingham on 23 February 1649. appointed organist of Westminster Abbey in late 1668. Blow was buried in the north choir aisle of Westminster Abbey.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which South Collingham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Graham HOGG has a photograph of the Royal Oak Pub. on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2016.

Graham HOGG also has a photograph of the Kings Head Pub. on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2016.

Ben BROOKSBANK has a photograph of Collingham: station and level-crossing, 1983 on Geo-graph, taken in August, 1983. At last check (2014), the station was still there.

topup

Manors

Richard CROFT has a photograph of South Collingham Hall on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2014. This facility is now an elder care home.

topup

Maps

  • The national grid reference is SK 8361.
     
  • You'll want an Ordinance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
     
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
     

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK830614 (Lat/Lon: 53.143292, -0.760584), South Collingham which are provided by:

topup

Military History

  • Two brothers from Collingham, John and William BACON, took part in the Charge of the Light Brigade (under the assumed name of BAKER) in October, 1854. William was killed, but John returned, later leaving the Army. Both are buried in North Collingham churchyard.
     
  • In 1869, Robert DIXON was the drill sergeant to the local rifle corps.
     
  • The Second Notts Volunteer Rifles were homed here and had a drill field. In 1881, the Company Captain was Thomas Cecil Smith WOOLLEY, Robert DIXON was the drill instructor.
     
  • In 1891, it was F Company of the 4th Volunteer Battalion. Major T. C. S. WOOLLEY, commanding, George HODGKINSON, drill instructor.
     
  • The Great War Bulletin for December 7, 1914 tells us that four men of South Collingham had been appointed as "Special Constables" to assist the police force in the event of a German invasion. They were: William TAYLOR, farmer; Miles CLARKE, gardener; R. COOK and William THOMPSON, carters.
     
  • The Collingham War Memorial Hall was built on High Street in South Collingham. It contains a Roll of Honour for all who served (89 names) in the Second World War.
     
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the War Memorial Hall on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2017
topup

Military Records

  • Thomas Cecil Smith WOOLLEY was a local man, born in So. Collingham in the 1st qtr. of 1854, and worked also as a land agent and surveyor. He is mentioned in the London Gazette in January, 1911. He can also be found in South Collingham in the 1901 and 1911 census returns.
     
  • There is a Battlefield Cross mounted in St. John the Baptist Church to Captain Thomas Cecil Smith WOOLLEY, 2/8th Bn Sherwood Foresters , who gave his life in 1917.
     
  • Also inside St. John the Baptist Church is a brass plaque and a stained glass window dedicated to the 16 men of he parish who died in World War I.
     
  • The Church boasts a paper Roll of Honour in a glass covering frame, with the same 16 names listed.
     

The Great War Bulletin for December 14, 1914 tells us that:

"19-year-old Lieutenant Ronald Andrew Colquhoun AITCHISON of the King’s Own (Royal Lancaster) Regiment died of wounds near Armentieres."

He was the son of civil engineer Gowrie Colquhoun AITCHISON and his wife Rose Mabel.

The Newark Great War Bulletin for July 19th, 1915 tells us that Charles WAITE had returned home from the front with rheumatism. He would survive both World Wars and pass away in 1949.

The Newark Great War Bulletin for September 69th, 1915 tells us that a Memorial Service was held for Captain Percy Leathley BROWNE of the Lincolnshire Regt., age 32, younger son of Mrs. Mary BROWNE of South Collingham Hall and the late Reverend S. B. BROWNE.

The Newark Great War Bulletin for September 20th, 1915 tells us that Bertie COLTON, age 21, who grew up in South Collingham, had died in the Dardenelles (Gallipoli) Campaign.

topup

Politics & Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
     
  • The parish was in the ancient Newark Wapentake (Hundred) in the eastern division of the county.
     
  • In April, 1970, this Civil Parish was abolished and a joint Collingham Civil Parish was created to serve both villages.
     
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Newark petty session hearings every other Wednesday.
     
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union in 1837.
     
  • The Great War Bulletin for December 6th, 1915 tells us that the Rector of South Collingham, Rev. Albert James MAXWELL, was on the Board of Guardians for the Newark Poorlaw Union at that time.
     
topup

Population

Year North
Collingham
South
Collingham
1801 508 539
1831 - 727
1851 935 834
1861 1010 863
1901 813 670
topup

Schools

  • A National School for children of both sexes was built here in 1839.
     
  • A school board was formed in 1875.
     
topup

Societies

The Collingham and District Local History Society might be a good source for you.