Bassetlaw District Council, Nottinghamshire


The Bassetlaw District Council (BDC) is a regional governing body that works with the Nottinghamshire County Council and individual parish councils within its region, which is the northern part of Nottinghamshire. The district was formed in 1974 from municipal boroughs of Worksop and East Retford and most of Worksop Rural District and East Retford Rural District following the passage of the Local Government Act 1972 in order to represent a regional view. Most of Bassetlaw District is "coal country", sitting on a Coal bed up to 900 metres (3,000 feet) thick. The district has five towns: Worksop, Tuxford, Harworth, Bircotes and Retford. The individual parishes and communities are:

You can write or phone the Bassetlaw District Council at the address below. Be aware, they do Not have time to assist with family history searches:

  • Phone: +44 01909 534 999
  • Council Offices
  • Queen's Buildings
  • Potter Street
  • Worksop
  • Nottinghamshire
  • S80 2AH
  • United Kingdom