Broxtowe Borough Council


This district formed on 1 April 1974 by a merger of the Beeston and Stapleford urban district, the Eastwood urban district and part of Basford Rural District. The borough's name was derived from the old Broxtowe wapentake of Nottinghamshire, which covered a larger area.
The district was granted borough status in 1977.

Broxtowe has ten civil parishes of which three (Eastwood, Kimberley and Stapleford) have town councils. The unparished area of the borough covers the town of Beeston and the neighbouring places of Chilwell, Toton, Attenborough and Bramcote—this is the area of the former Beeston and Stapleford Urban District, minus Stapleford which was parished in 1987. The Borough is broken up into 20 wards that cover the following parishes:

  1. Attenborough
  2. Awsworth
  3. Bramcote
  4. Brinsley
  5. Chilwell (in Attenborough)
  6. Cossall
  7. Eastwood
  8. Giltbrook (in Greasley)
  9. Greasley
  10. Kimberley
  11. Moorgreen (in Greasley)
  12. Newthorpe (in Greasley)
  13. Nuthall
  14. Stapleford
  15. Strelley
  16. Swingate
  17. Toton (in Attenborough)
  18. Trowell
  19. Watnall
  20. Additionally a small part of Wollaton falls within Broxtowe.

You may contact the Council at:

Broxtowe Borough Council
Foster Avenue, Beeston
Nottingham, NG9 1AB
United Kingdom
Tele: 0115 917 7777

They cannot assist you with Family History searches.