Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Babergh Hundred

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Babergh Hundred

"BABERGH, a hundred in the SW of Suffolk. It adjoins Essex, includes Sudbury, and contains thirty parishes and parts of two others. Acres, 73,428. Pop. in 1851, 24,401; in 1861, 24,198. Houses, 5,430."

(From John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).)

Civil Registration

In 1836, White's Description of the Poor Law Unions and Registration Districts shows this Hundred to be served by the Registration Districts of Cosford and Subdury.

COSFORD RD in 1836 - 28 Parishes comprising 18 parishes of Cosford Hundred and 10 parishes of Babergh Hundred, namely Boxford which includes Hadleigh Hamlet, Brent Eleigh, Cockfield, Edwardstone, Groton, Lavenham, Milden, Monks Eleigh, Polstead and Preston. It is divided into 2 sub-districts:- Hadleigh and Lavenham.

SUDBURY RD in 1836 - Comprises the borough of Sudbury and 41 other parishes of which 22 are in Babergh Hundred and 18 in Hinckford Hundred in Essex. The latter are Alphamstone, Ballingdon, Belchamp-Otten, Belchamp-St. Paul, Belchamp-Walter, Borley, Bulmer, Bures Hamlet, Foxearth, Gestingthorpe, Great Henny, Little Henny, Lamarsh, Liston, Middleton, Pentloe, Twinstead and Wickham St. Paul. Sudbury Union is divided into 5 sub-districts :- Sudbury, Hartest, Melford, Bulmer and Bures.

See also Suffolk Registration Districts.

Historical Geography

Historical information about boundaries and administrative areas for Babergh is available from A Vision of Britain.

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse provides information on the Poor Law and Poor Law Unions.