Blackbourne Hundred


"BLACKBOURN, a hundred in Suffolk. It lies between Norfolk on the N, Hartismere hundred on the E, and Lackford hundred on the W; and contains Great Ashfield parish, thirty-two other parishes, and part of another. Acres, 63,857. Pop., 15,703. Houses, 3,302."

(From John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72).)

Civil Registration

In 1836, White's Description of the Poor Law Unions and Registration Districts shows this Hundred to be served by the Registration Districts of Stow and Thetford and Thingoe.

STOW RD in 1836 - 34 parishes comprising 14 in Stow Hundred, 11 in Blackbourn Hundred, and 9 in Thedwestry Hundred. The Union is divided into 3 sub-districts:- Stowmarket, Rattlesden, and Walsham-le-Willows.

THETFORD RD in 1836 - 34 parishes comprising the 3 parishes of Thetford, namely St. Peters, St. Cuthberts and St Marys, Kilverstone, Croxton, East Wretham, West Wretham, Brettenham, Rushford,Hethwold, Northwold, Santon, Hockwold-cum-Wilton, Feltwell, Mundford, Lynford, West Tofts, Sturston, Cranwich, and Weeting-cum-Broomhill all in Norfolk. Also the parishes of Santon Downham, Brandon, Barnham, Fakenham-Magna, Euston, Honnington, Sapiston, Coney Weston, Barningham, Weston Market,Hepworth, Thelnetham, Hopton and Knettishall in Blackbourn and Lackford Hundreds in Suffolk. Thetford Union is divided into 2 sub-districts :-Thetford and Methwold.

THINGOE RD in 1836 - 46 Parishes of which 15 are in Thedwestry Hundred, 10 in Blackbourn Hundred, 18 in Thingoe Hundred plus 3 in Risbridge Hundred viz. Chedburgh, Denham, and Depden.

See also Suffolk Registration Districts.

Historical Geography

Historical information about boundaries and administrative areas for Blackbourne Hundred is available from A Vision of Britain.