Brompton Regis / King's Brompton
"BROMPTON REGIS, a parish in the hundred of Williton and Freemanners, in the county of Somerset, 3 miles to the N.E. of Dal Kerton. It lies at the south foot of Brendon Hill, on the banks of the river Exe, and contains the site of a Dominican priory, founded in the reign of Henry IT., and valued at the Dissolution at about £99. Brompton was anciently a hundred and a market town. (good building stone is abundant in the neighbourhood. The living is a vicarage* in the diocese of Bath and Wells, of the value of £400, in the gift of the Master and Fellows of Emmanuel College, Cambridge. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, contains a carved screen. Cattle fairs are held in May and October, each lasting four days." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- Burials at Brompton Regis, 1813 - 1864 (47k).
- David Cheek has transcribed some Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials from the Brompton Regis parish registers.
- The section of The National Gazetteer (1868) relating to this parish - transcribed by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brompton Regis / King's Brompton to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Brompton Regis / King's Brompton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS974310 (Lat/Lon: 51.069455, -3.465371), Brompton Regis / King's Brompton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)