Hide
Fivehead
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"FIVEHEAD, a parish in the hundred of Abdick and Bulstone, county Somerset, 4 miles S.W. of Langport, its post town, and 8 E. of Taunton. The Langport station on the Bristol and Exeter railway is nearly 5 miles from the village. It is situated on the river He, and includes the tythings of Burton-Pynsent, Cathanger, and Moortown. Limestone is quarried. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value with that of Swell annexed, £234, in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Bristol, who are impropriators of the great tithes. The church is a stone edifice of ancient date, with an embattled tower at the W. end. It is dedicated to St. Martin, and has a brass effigy of a female. The register commences in 1654. There is a National school for both sexes. The impropriate tithes of this parish have been commuted for a rent-charge of £253, and the vicarial for £126; a rent-charge of £2 16s. is also payable to the Rector of Ashill. Arundel Yeo, Esq., is lord of the manor." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided Census Transcripts from Fivehead and surrounding areas.
| St Martin, Fivehead |
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Fivehead parish registers.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided A Transcript of Kellys Directory for Fivehead for 1875
- The section of The National Gazetteer (1868) relating to this parish - transcribed by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Fivehead to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST352230 (Lat/Lon: 51.002413, -2.924938), Fivehead which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.