Hide

Aldingbourne

hide
Hide

ALDINGBOURNE is a parish, 5 miles east from Chichester, in the Western division of the county, Box and Stockbridge hundred, rape, county court district, diocese and archdeaconry of Chichester, West Hampnett union, and Boxgrove rural deanery. The church of St. Mary is very ancient, in the Early English style consisting of chancel, nave, south aisle, and square tower with 3 bells. The register dates from 1558. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £350, with residence, in the gift of the Bishop of Chichester, and held by the Rev. George Frederic Daniell, M.A. of Magdalen College, Cambridge. Aldingbourne House is the property and residence of Richard Hasler, Esq.: it is a handsome mansion, pleasantly situated: the grounds are laid out with great taste. Nyton Park is the seat of Charles Peckham Peckham, Esq. In the reign of Henry VIII. Nyton was a grant belonging to BoXgrove Priory: in 1585 it came into the family of Peckham. Norton House, the property of C. Buckle, Esq. is also in this parish. The area of the parish is 3,O60 acres. The population in 1861 was 772.
LIDSEY, WESTERGATE and NORTON are hamlets. [Kelly's Post Office Directory of Essex, Herts, Middlesex, Kent, Surrey and Sussex, 1867.]

Hide
topup

Church Records

  • Original registers: CMB 1558- in WSRO - listing [PDF]
  • IGI Batch Nos for Aldingbourn(e) parish registers
  • Holdings of the LDS Church Family History Library for Aldingbourn
  • The Society of Genealogists has:
    • CB 1558-1777 M 1558-1758
    • CMB 1594-1595 1618
    • B 1813-1841
    • B 1813-1870
    • M 1813-1841
    • M 1813-1837
topup

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Aldingbourne which are provided by:

topup

Directories

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aldingbourne has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SU924054 (Lat/Lon: 50.84076, -0.689061), Aldingbourne which are provided by: