Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Nuthurst

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Nuthurst

NUTHURST is a village and parish, 42 miles from London, and 4 south from Horsham station, in the Western division of the county, Singlecross hundred, rape of Bramber, and Horsham union and county court district. The church of St. Andrew is a neat structure in the Early Decorated style, consisting of nave, chancel, and porch: the entrance to the porch is constructed of oak, and the spandrils contain the lily and other flowers richly carved: there is a shingle spire risingfrom the roof containing 3 bells: the roof and the pews are of oak: the font, of Purbeck marble, is octagonal and veryancient: there are some handsome stained glass windows; the eastern one contains some remains of an old window, and hasrepresentations of angels worshipping: the church was considerably enlarged in 1856, at a cost of £2,400, the greater part of which was the gift of J. T. Nelthorpe, Esq.; the Society for Promoting the Enlargement of Churches and Chapels granted £100, and the remainder was contributed by the rector, the inhabitants, and others. The parish registers date from the fifteenth century, and are in a good state of preservation. The living is a rectory, the tithes are committed at £480 perannum, in the gift of the Bishop of London, and held by the Rev. John Ommanney McCarogher, M.A., of Magdalen College, Oxford. A neat rectory house was built in 1859; Mr. Ferrey, of London, was the architect. There is a National school for boys and girls, supported by voluntary contributions and a small weekly payment from the scholars. J. T. Nelthorpe, Esq., J.P., Walter Burrell, Esq., and Major John Aldridge, J.P., are the chief landowners. Nuthurst Lodge is the delightful seat of J. T. Nelthorpe, Esq., J.P. situated on an eminence, with commanding views of the South Down hills and Shoreham harbour. The population in 1861 was 767; area, 3,260 acres.
COPSALE and MANNING'S HEATH are in this parish. [Kelly's Post Office Directory of Essex, Herts, Middlesex, Kent, Surrey and Sussex, 1867.]

topup
topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Nuthurst which are provided by:

topup
topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Nuthurst to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Nuthurst has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup