Hide

Waterfall

hide
Hide

"Waterfall is a small scattered village in the Moorlands, seven and a half miles SE by E of Leek, deriving its name from the curious phenomenon of the river Hamps, which having flowed about eight miles from its source, suddenly disappears , near Waterhouses, among the limestone rocks, where it pursues a subterraneous course to the neighbourhood of Ilam, where it again appears, and forms a confluence with the Manyfold. The parish contains about 1600 acres and 446 inhabitants, and includes most of the village of Waterhouses, one mile S, the hamlet of Wilkhill, one and a quarter miles SW of Waterfall, and a small portion of Calton chapelry.
Waterhouses is partly in Cauldon parish.
Winkhill has a corn and paper mill, a foundry, and a colour manufactory, six miles SE of Leek.
Calton formed a chapelry to Waterfall parish and details can be found on the Calton parish page. "
[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851]

 

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

A transcript of the Monumental Inscriptions of the parish church of St James & St Bartholomew has been published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

topup

Census

The population of Waterfall parish was as follows:
1831 -- 531
1841 -- 446

topup

Churches

topup

Church History

"The parish church, St James & St Bartholomew, is a small ancient structure, with a tower and three bells.
The rectory is in the patronage of A Henniker, Esq, and incumbency of the Rev. Robert Henry Goodacre, MA, for whom the Rev GH Penny of Cauldon, officiates.
The Wesleyans have a chapel at Winkhill, and the Primitive Methodists have one at Waterhouses"

[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851)

topup

Church Records

Church of England Registers
The parish register of the parish church of St James & St Bartholomew commences in 1602. The original registers for the period 1602-1931 (Bapts), 1602-1972 (Mar) & 1602-1992 (Bur), and Banns for the period 1784-1823 are deposited at Staffordshire Record Office.
Bishops Transcripts, 1661-1856 (with gaps) are deposited at Lichfield Record Office.
Some entries for Calton chapelry are included in the parish registers and Bishops Transcripts.

topup

Description & Travel

A transcription of the section on Waterfall from A Topographical History of Staffordshire by William Pitt (1817)

You can see pictures of Waterfall which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for Waterfall from the Topographical Dictionary of England (1859)

The transcription of the section for Waterfall from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

The transcription of the section for Waterfall from the Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Waterfall has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK082515 (Lat/Lon: 53.060687, -1.879096), Waterfall which are provided by:

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The parish became part of Ashbourne Union following the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834.