Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Westmorland - Description & Travel

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Westmorland - Description & Travel

This county was divided into two grand divisions called the Barony of Westmorland and the Barony of Kendal. The former was divided into two wards called East Ward and West Ward, and the latter comprised the Kendal and Lonsdale Wards, forming the south-west part of the county.

Transcriptions of descriptions from Parsons & White 1829 are given on Edenlinks.

Westmorland is now part of Cumbria and is a still a very sparsely populated rural area. It is best-known for including part of the beautiful Lake District National Park. It contains the longest lake - Windermere - and second highest mountain - Helvelleyn - in England.

360 degree panoramas were formerly provided by

Also has much description and many pictures.

Les Strong's Edenlinks and Westmorland Villages site has some good pictures.

See also under Gazetteers.

There is a website covering Cumbrian railway history and there is further information available for the Settle-Carlisle Railway.