Hide

Askham Bryan parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town in the wapentake of Ainsty; 4 miles from York, 6 from Tadcaster. Population 377. The Church, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Lay Manor, is perpetual curacy, in New Ainsty deanery, dedicated to St. Nicholas.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)

  • Baptisms: 1695-1916
  • Marriages: 1695-1894
  • Burials: 1695-1943

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1604-1606, 1608, 1633-1636, 1639-1641, 1661-1673, 1675, 1681, 1683-1847, 1849-1852

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1604-1837, 1838-1886;
  • M 1604-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CB 1695-1837; M 1695-1836 (but also including BTs for the period 1604- 1695); Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 131, CD: P20 (includes Askham Richard); Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.