Hide

Askham Richard parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town in the wapentake of Ainsty; 4¾ miles from Tadcaster, 5 from York. Population 249. The Church is a vicarage, in New Ainsty deanery, endowed in 1329, dedicated to St. Mary.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)

  • Baptisms: 1579-1964
  • Marriages: 1579-1979
  • Burials: 1579-1992

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600,1601, 1605, 1606, 1632-1635, 1637-1641, 1661-1671, 1673, 1679,1681-1683, 1689, 1690*, 1691-1699, 1700*, 1701-1712, 1714-1724, 1726- 1732, 1734-1826, 1828-1848
    * With Wighill

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1579-1837, 1838-1885;
  • M 1578-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1579-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 31; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  2. CMB 1579-1837; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) includes Askham Bryan CD: P20
  3. CMB 1813-1837; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 131; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  4. M 1579-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.