Hide

Bishopthorpe parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Bishopthorpe parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town in the wapentake of Ainsty; 2½ miles from York, 8 from Tadcaster. Population 301. The Church is a vicarage, in New Ainsty deanery, dedicated to St. Andrew.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)

  • Baptisms: 1692-1973
  • Marriages: 1692-1963
  • Burials: 1692-1825

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1631-1640, 1663, 1665, 1666, 1669-1673, 1677, 1678, 1683, 1689,1690, 1692, 1694, 1697-1727, 1729-1783, 1785, 1788-1791, 1793-1808, 1810-1813, 1815-1846, 1848-1876, 1878, 1879, 1882-1885

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1692-1729, 1729-1885;
  • M 1696-1729, 1729-1837, 1838-1886

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1631-1837 (uses early BTs to fill gaps); Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 150; Yorkshire Archaeological Society

On line (by Sue Turner):

  1. FamilySearch (search for Bishop-Thorpe) C 1692-1901; M 1692-1900 B 1692-1901; BTs as above (indexed, some restricted access images); Banns 1824-1901 (not indexed, with images)
  2. findmypast C 1692-1901; Banns 1824-1901; M 1692-1900; B 1692-1901; BTs as above (with images)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.