Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Bishopthorpe parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Bishopthorpe parish:

Bishopthorpe, Incumbents transcription:

The List of Incumbents of St. Andrew's Church, Bishopthorpe.

St Andrew's Church, Bishopthorpe
List of Incumbents and Patrons

Priory of S Andrew's, York1231Arnold de BerkeleyRector 1st church built between 1200 and 1231
Archbishop of York1241 Advowson bought by Abp Walter Gray
Priory of S Clement's, York1269 Advowson given by Abp Gifford to S Clement's Priory, York
1281William de CayinghamVicar
1304Nicholas de Acaster
1316John de Swyne
1321Rodulphus de Sowerby
1332Walter de Stutton
1335Robert Almet
1401John de BriggsMaster of Hospital of S John Baptist, Ripon
1408John de Nafferton
1409Thomas Gaynesburgh
1415John Dorell
1417Thomas Dighton
1427William Richman
1459John Penreth
1459John Fletcher
1482Robert Lille
1495William Softly
1519Henry Gurwell
1521Rodulphus Palester1536 Dissolution of Monasteries Advowson seized by Crown
The Crown1539William Preston
1572Paul Mayson
1605Thomas Lougher
1609William Hawksworth
1645Mr Ellwood1643 Church clergy ejected by the Parliament
1645Humphrey SimpsonCurate
1675George Loupell
1681Samuel Daniel
1693Thomas Adams
1701James Addison1729 Advowson recovered from the Crown by
Archbishop of York1736William Berdmorein exchange for that of Brafferton
1758John Dealtry1768 2nd church built by Abp Drummond
1797Robert Markham
1814William VernonTook the name of Harcourt in 1831
1824William Henry Dixon
1834William Vernon-HarcourtRe-instituted
1837William Henry DixonRe-instituted
1854Charles Frederick Smith
1865William Basil JonesBishop of S David's 1874-1897
1875Walter HudsonRector of Carlton in Lindrick 1884
1884Richard BlakeneyVicar of Melton Mowbray 1891 Canon of Peterborough
1891John Robert Keble1899 3rd church consecrated by Abp Maclagan
1903William Geoffrey Pennyman1903 3rd church completed by the addition of the tower
presented by Abp Maclagan and consecrated by him
on the Feast of St Michael and All Angels.
1910Arthur Stafford Crawley
????Edward Reginald Gibbs
1918Charles William ???
1924Francis Leonard Perkins
1932Hugh Compton Warner
1939William Robert Raileton-Brown
1946Philip John Seymour Russell
1956-63Richard Leslie Harris Lloyd MA Dlitt
1964-72Mark Green MC MA
1972-83Michael William EscrittVicar of Acaster Malbis
1983-Paul Rathbone

Data transcribed by
Haydn Scott.
from photography by Colin Hinson