Tadcaster parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A market and parish town, in the wapentakes of Barkston-Ash and Ainsty, a part in the Liberty of St. Peter; 6 miles from Aberford, 7 from Wetherby, 10 from York, 12 from Ferrybridge, 12½ from Selby, 14 from Pontefract, 15 from Leeds, 190 from London. Population 1,651, the Ainsty 775. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Mary, in New Ainsty deanery.
Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)
- Baptisms: 1570-1624, 1653-1971
- Marriages: 1570-1624, 1653-1989
- Burials: 1570-1624, 1653-1932
- 1598, 1632-1641, 1666-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1676, 1682, 1690, 1692,1695-1697, 1700-1702, 1705, 1707-1745, 1747-1755, 1757-1773, 1775-1859
- C 1570-1720, 1720-1859;
- M 1570-1720, 1720-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1570-1624; Typed transcript, with index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- CMB 1653-1754, 4 vols; TI, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- CB 1754-1777; Typed transcript, with index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- M 1754-1779; Typed transcript, with index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research All the above contain available BTs to fill any gaps.
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.