THE REGISTER OF BURIALS IN YORK MINSTER, ACCOMPANIED BY MONUMENTAL INSCRIPTIONS, AND ILLUSTRATED WITH BIOGRAPHICAL NOTICES. By ROBERT H. SKAIFE, The Mount, York.
York Minster Burials 1634-1670
A Register of those persons that have been Buried in the Cathedrall and Metropolitical Church of St. Peter in Yorke, when Mr. Aumbler*4 was Clerke of the Vestry, and in the time of James Scruton, Clerke of the Vestry.
*4 William Ambler entered upon his office 16 January, 1633-4.
(1). Mrs. Robinson, buried in October, 1634.
(2). Lady Mary Cranfeild, buried the third day of September, 1635, and Mr. Aumbler had ye Velvitt Pall that was brought over her.
Probably Frances, the first wife of Luke Robinson, esq., of Thornton-Riseborough, and daughter of Phineas Hodson, D.D., chancellor of York. She was baptized at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 11 March, 1614-15, and married there, 9 May, 1633. Her only daughter, who became the wife of Thos. Strangways, esq., of Pickering, was baptized in the same church, 27 March, 1634.
(3). Mrs. Jane Hodson, ye wife of Dr. Hodson, buried ye second day of September, 1636.
The youngest daughter, I believe, of Lionel Cranfield, earl of Middlesex, lord treasurer of England, by his first wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Shepard, merchant, London (Dugd. Bar., II., 446).
SELECTISSIMÆ CONIVGIS VIRTVTI HOC QUALICVNQ3
ELOGIO PARENTAVIT SVOQ3 AFFECT VI INDVLSIT,
VIR SI QVIS ALIVS MOESTISSIMUS.
JANA HODSON VXOR PHINEÆ HODSON, S. THEOLOGÆ
PFESSORAS, ET HVIVS ECCLESIÆ CANCELLARII, FOEMINA
IN EXEMPLV NATA, & SVPRA OMNE ADVLATIONE ABSOLVTA,
SEXVS SVI PRÆCLARVM SPECIMEN, ET TOTIVS ETIAM
VRBIS INSIGNE ORNAMENTVM.
HINC MERITO DELITIÆ & LÆTITIÆ VIRI, SVIS DILECTA OMNIB
GRATIOSA, PIETATE, MODESTIA, BENEFICENTIA, OBNIXE COLVIT,
FAMILIÆ NORMA, HOSPES BENIGNA:
PAVPERVM ALTRIX MVNIFICA, QVIB EROGANDO PROVIDA
ET FELIX OECONOMA, FACVLTATES AVXIT,
PROPINQVOS CVPIDE, EXTRANEOS HVMANISSIME EXCEPIT ;
CONAVX FIDELIS. MATER FOECUNDA, ET QVÆ NON MINORE
SOLICITVDINE LIBEROS EDVCAVAT QVA PEPERIT:
POSTQVAM NVMEROSA VTRIVSQ3 SEXVS SOBOLE MARITV
SVVM ADAVXISSET, IN VICESIMO QVARTO TANDE PARTV,
DOLORIS ACERBITATI, TANQVAM MILES IN STATIONE,
SVMMA ANIMI CONSTANTIA SVCCVBVIT, ET INTEGRIS
ADHVC ATEAT ET FORMA, ADEO VT VIRGINE DICERES,
QVÆ TOTIES MATER ERAT ; TVRBATO NATVRÆ ORDINE,
PROVECTIOREM IAM VIRV RELIQVIT ARDENTISSIMO IPSIVS
DESIDERIO QVOTIDIE CANESCENTEM.
DVLCISSAMAM INTERIM CONIVGEM NON EXAVDIENTEM
VOCAT DESERTISSIMVS MARITVS.
OBIIT ÆTATIS SVÆ 38 ET CIRCITER 8 MENSES
2 SEPT. 1636.
Arms - Quarterly 1 and 4. Per chevron embattled or and sable three mullets counter-changed (Hodson). 2 and 3. Argent on a fess sable a buck's head, cabossed or (Hutton). *5
Jane, wife of Phineas Hodson, D.D., chancellor of York, and daughter and heiress of John Hutton, son and heir of Richard Hutton, of York. She died in child-bed, 2 Sept., 1636 (the day of her burial), at the comparatively early age of 38, having had, according to the inscription on her monument, the extraordinary number of twenty-four children. Of these, fourteen (none of whom were twins) were baptized at St. Michael's- le-Belfrey between the years 1615 and 1633.
*5 I have blazoned this coat as it is depicted on the monument, and described by Torre; but it is obvious that the arms of Dr. Hodson should impale those of his wife.
(4). Mr. Timothey Peeres buried the one and twenteth day of September, 1636.
(5). Mis Mary Hodson, the Daughter of Dr. Hodson, buried ye eight day of April, 1637.
Third son of Mr. John Piers (nephew of archbishop Piers), registrar of the Exchequer Court of York. He was baptized at St. Michael's-le- Belfrey, 3 July, 1610, and had a still-born child buried there, 8 June, 1636.
(6). Mr. Richard Neall, sonn of Sr. Paul Neall, buried ye six day of 9ber, 1637.
Mary, daughter of Mr. Doctor Hodson (the chancellor) was baptized at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 21 April, 1618.
A further note to this from Ray Foster (November 2007):
The Richard Neale the inscription refers to was the infant son - born the previous year - of Sir Paul Neale and Elizabeth Clarke. Sir Paul and Elizabeth subsequently had four more children, the second son of which was also named Richard (1640-1692) who eventually became Sir Richard Neile, Sheriff of Northumberland (which is where confusion might arise.)
(7). John Goodday buried the second day of February, 1637.
Sir Paul Neile, only son of Richard Neile, archbishop of York, married Elizabeth, daughter of the Rev. Gabriel Clarke, prebendary of Durham.
(8). Mr. William Neall buried the eight day of August, 1638.
(9). Mrs. Wises bur. the sevententh day of September, 1638.
1638. "Mr. William Neale buryed the 8 day of August in the north side quire of the Minster church."-(Par. Reg., St. Michael-le-Belfrey.)*6
One of the nephews of archbishop Neile. On Oct. 30, 1638, administration of the effects of William Neile, of York, gent., was granted to his brother, Mr. John Neile, archdeacon of Cleveland, with the consent of Elizabeth Neile, his widow.
*6 For the valuable and interesting extracts from the parish registers of St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, I am indebted to the kindness of the Rev. Canon Rains.
(9a). 1638. " Anthony Brooke buryed the 26 day of December, in the Minster Church."- (Par. Reg., St. Michael-le-Belfrey.)
Probably Elizabeth, wife of Mr. Henry Wishes, or Wise, and daughter of Mr. John Piers, registrar of the Exchequer Court of York. They were married at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 3 March, 1621-2.
(10). Mr. Edward Osburn, bur. the first of November, 1638.
Edward, eldest son and heir apparent of Sir Edward Osborne, of Kiveton, Bart., Vice-President of the Council of the North, by his first wife, Margaret, daughter of Sir Thomas Bellasis, of Newburgh, Bart. He was killed, 31 Oct., 1638, by the fall of some chimneys at his father's official residence, the King's Manor, York.
The Diary of Sir Hen. Slingsby commences with the following account of this melancholy accident :- "It was upon ye last of October yt sad accident hapned wch deprived Sr Edward Osborn, ye Vice-President, of his eldest son, in ye year 1638 : this accident happned by great winds wch continu'd most part of this month, but cheifly upon yt day on wch Osborn ye son was slain, for being at his study yt morning wth a Frenchman, yt tought him french, his father going to Kerton (Kiveton ?), and his mother only that morning gone to Lonsbrough to my Lord Clifford's, about 10 of ye clock, ye wind blew down wth great violence 7 chimneys shafts upon ye roof of yt chamber in ye mannor house, where he was at study, and by ye fall of ym all ye rotten peice of building was beat down, wherein he was found dead and buri'd in a heap of rubbish.-He was one much lamented by all yt knew him for those hopes he gave, being then but of ye age of 17 years."
HERE*7 LYETH YE BODY OF
ANNE STANHOPE DAVGHTER
OF D" STANHOPE AND
SVSAN HIS WIFE, WHO
DIED YE 27 DAY OF OCTOBR
1639, BEEINGE OF YE
AGE OF 18 WEEKES.
Ann, daughter of Mr. Doctor Stanhope, was baptised at St. Michael's- le-Belfrey, 2 July, 1639. Her father, Geo. Stanhope, D.D., was precentor of York. (See No. 49.)
*7 The present position of this stone (10a) is a considerable distance from that in which Torre found it (A).-See the Plan
(10b). Richard Neile, archbishop of York, died in the house belonging to the prebend of Stillington, within the Cathedral Close, 31 Oct., 1640, and was buried in All Saints' chapel, in the Minster, without any memorial.
(11). Edward Mattershæ, Dr. of Law, bur. ye sevententh day of February, 1640.
In his will, dated 23 June, 1640, the archbishop, after giving " God most humble and harty thanks for his mercy to me in giving me to be borne into this world in the yeare of our Lord God, 1562, in wch the Articles of the Religion & Faith of the Church of England were established and published," bequeaths to his son, Sir Paul Neile, " my Ringe of nyne diamonds wch the King of Denmark gave me ; " and adds, " I chardg my sayd Sonne very carefully to preserve & leave the same to his Childe, as an home monument of the Giver hereof, & of my neerenes of service as Clerk of the Clossett to my most Royall & gratious Master, his sacred Matie King James. I confesse I doe valew it for the Gever's sake one hundred tymes more of worth than the price thereof."
(12). Henry Wickham, Dr. of Divinity, bur. the third of July, 1641.
On 19 Feb., 1640-1, administration of the effects of Edward Motterhed, LL.D., late of "Lee Bedderne," in York, was granted to Judith Motterhed, his widow. "Mrs. Judith Mattershed of the Bethron" was buried at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 18 Aug., 1680.
(13). Mrs. Robinson, ye wife of Mr. Luke Robinson, bur. ye sixth day of August, 1642.
Son of William Wickham, bishop of Winchester, by Anthonina, daughter of William Barlow, bishop of Chichester. He married, first, Annabella, daughter of Sir Hen. Cholmley, of Thornton, co. York. She died 25 July, 1625, and was buried in the Minster. Secondly, Elizabeth, daughter of John Browne, Esq., of Fidlers, co. Essex. She died 21 April, 1659, and was buried at East Barnet, co. Herts.
Henry Wickham, M.A., of King's College, Cambridge, was ordained deacon at Cawood, 25 Sept., 1614, and priest at Bishopthorpe, 21 Sept., 1617. He was collated to the stall of Fenton at York, 10 Oct., 1614; to the rectory of Bolton Percy, 20 June, 1617 ; to the stall of Beckingham at Southwell, 22 March, 1620-1 ; and to the archdeaconry of York, 20 March, 1623-4 ; which preferments he held until his death, on July 2nd, 1641. He was also rector of Bedale.
(14). Mr. Thomas Carr was bur. ye twentith day of November, 1642.
1642. " (Blank) the wife of Luke Robinson, esquire, buryed the 6 day of August, in the Minster Church."-(Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
Mary, second wife of Luke Robinson, esq., of Thornton-Riseborough, and daughter of Edward Pennell, esq., of Woodhall, co. Worcester.- (Dugd. Visit., ed. Surt. Soc., p. 65.)
(15). Mr. Labaran bur. the ninth of January, 1642.
Possibly "Major Carr, a Scotchman," who was sent out under "Sr Tho. Glemham (Governor of York) to beat up Sr Tho. Fairfaxces Quarters at Wetherby," and "kill'd wthin ye town." See the Diary of Sir Hen. Slingsby (p. 83), where the month is not given. In Markham's recently published " Life of Lord Fairfax" (p. 70), this affair is stated to have occurred in November, 1642.
(16). Colonel Slingsbye bur. the twenty-sixth of January, 1642.
Probably William Leyburne, eldest son of John Leyburne, esq., of Cunswick, co. Westmerland, by his first wife, Catherine, daughter of Sir Christopher Carus, of Halghton, co. Chester. He was a cornet of horse in the Queen's Regiment, and was slain in a skirmish at Sheriff Hutton.
(17). Colonel George Clifford, bur. five & twentith day of February, 1642.
Guilford, eldest son of Sir Guilford Slingsby, knt., of Bifrons, co. Kent (8th son of Fras. Slingsby, esq., of Scriven), by Margaret, daughter of William Watter, esq., of Cundall, lord mayor of York in 1620. (See No. 20.) Born about 1610. Secretary to the great earl of Strafford, and by him made Lieutenant of the Ordnance, and Vice-Admiral of Munster. After the death of the earl he went abroad, but returned in a few years, and levied a regiment in Cleveland, where he possessed an estate. On 16 Jan., 1642-3, he was attacked at Guisbrough by Sir Hugh Cholmley, and in the engagement, which ended in the rout of his regiment, was wounded and taken prisoner. He was carried back to Guisbrough, where. both his legs were cut off above the knee in order to save his life, but he survived the operation only three days. He was buried in York Minster, (ut supra), his funeral sermon being preached by John Bramhall, bishop of Derry, afterwards archbishop of Armagh.
(18). Mis Mary Porter, ye daughter of Mr. Indemion Porter, bur. March ye fifthtenth, 1642.
(19). Captaine Dutton, bur. the sixth of April, 1643.
Endymion Porter, esq., of Hanging Aston, co. Gloucester, a "great patron of all ingenious men, especially of poets," and " beloved by two kings, James I. for his admirable wit, and Charles I. (to whom, as to his father, he was a servant) for his general learning, brave stile, sweet temper, great experience, travels, and modern languages." He accompanied Charles, when prince of Wales, on the journey to Spain, and was afterwards groom of the bedchamber to the young king (Athen. Oxon., ed. Bliss, III., p. 2). In 1642 he came to York in the suite of King Charles I. He was a colonel in the royal army, and died abroad before the Restoration.
(20). Mis Mary Caley, bur. the fourtenth of April, 1643.
(21). Captaine Williamson, bur. the thirtith of May, 1643.
Probably Mary, daughter of Edward Caley, esq., of Brompton, by Anne, daughter of William Watter, esq., of Cundall, alderman of York (See No. 16).
(22). Collonell Howard, bur. the third of July, 1643.
(23). Colonel Herrin, bur. the third of July, 1643.
Thomas, son of Sir Francis Howard, of Corby Castle, co. Cumberland, by his first wife, Margaret, daughter of John Preston, esq., of the Manor of Furness, co. Lane. He was slain at the battle of Atherton (or Adwalton) Moor, near Bradford, 30 June, 1643. (See No. 40.)
(24). Captaine Lampton, bur. the fifth of July, 1643.
Herne, a colonel in the royal army, was slain at the battle of Atherton Moor, 30 June, 1643.
(25). Captaine Langley, bur. the sixtenth of July, 1643.
William, son of Sir William Lambton, of Lambton, co. Durham, by his first wife, Jane, daughter of Sir Nicholas Curwen, of Workington, co. Cumberland. He was baptized 24 Sept., 1617, and is stated in the family pedigree to have been slain at Wakefield in 1643. As the battle was fought May 21st, it is more probable that Captain Lambton died of the wounds he received.
(26). Captain Errington bur. the one & twentith August, 1643.
(27). Captain Levyston bur. the fourtenth of October, 1643.
1643. " Capt. Ralph Errington was buryed the 21th of August in the Minster."-(Par. Reg., St. Michael-le-Belfrey.)
Perhaps Ralph, second son of Anthony Errington, esq., of Denton, co. Northumberland, by Dorothy, daughter of Gilbert Errington, esq., of Woolsington.
(28). Captain Maude bur. the twenty-seventh of October, 1643.
Probably the captain was of the same family as " Lieutenant-Colonel John Leuiston, Laird of Banton, neere Leeth, in Scotland," who, on Aug. 8th, 1643, was " marryed in Wheldrake church, by Mr. Henry Mace, of the Minster of York," to " Mrs. Frances Gamul, dau. to Colonel Francis Gamul, of Chester."-(Par. Reg. of Wheldrake.)
(29). Captain Baker bur. the twenty-fifth of November, 1643.
(30). Comissary Windham bur. the twenty-first of December, 1643, & James Scruton had the Velvit Pall and 2 Large Holland Shetes that came under it.
(31). William Easdall, Dr. of Law, bur. ye sixtenth of December, 1643.
(32). The Lady Hinderson, bur. ye sixth of February, 1643.
16 Jan., 1643-4. "Mr. Wm. Easdell, dockter and judge of the Consetory Courte," was buried.-(Par. Reg., Holy Trinity, Goodramgate.)
Dr. Easdall was vicar-general and official principal to archbishops Neile and Williams, and chancellor of the diocese.
(33). The Lady Midleton, bur. ye tenth of February, 1643.
Perhaps the wife of Sir John Henderson, " a known papist, and a confidant instrument of his majesty at Beverley, when the king was there," in 1642, and who is said to have incited one David Alexander to assassinate Sir John Hotham.
(34). Captaine Rich, bur. ye twenty-third of February, 1643.
Perhaps Mary, daughter and heir of David Ingleby, esq. (2nd son of Sir Wm. Ingleby, of Ripley), by Anne, daughter of Charles Neville, earl of Westmorland, and wife of Sir Peter Middleton, knt., of Stockheld, co. York.
(35). The Countess of Cumberland, bur. ye thirtenth of March, 1643.
[HERE LYETH IN REST
Ye BODY OF Ye RIGHT HONble
THE LADY FRANCES CECIL,
COVNTESS OF CVMBERLAND,
DAVGHTER OF THE RIGHT HONble
ROBERT EARLE OF SALISBVRY (LORD]
HIGH TREASVRER OF E[NGLAND & KNIGHT OF Ye]
MOST NOBLE ORDER OF Ye [GARTER, AND]
MASTER OF Ye COVRT OF WARDS [AND LIVERIES)
SHE MARRYED Ye RIGHT HONOR" HENRY [LORD]
CLIFFORD, BROMFLEET, VETREPONT & VESSEY,
EARLE OF CUMBERLAND, & LORD LEIVTENANT
OF YE COVNTY OF YORKE VNDER KING CHARLES
Ye FIRST, THE LAST EARLE OF THAT ANCIENT
AND MOST NOBLE FAMILY OF CLIFFORD; BY
WHOM Ye SAID LADY HAD ISSUE Ye RIGHT HONble
YE LADY ELIZABETH CLIFFORD (MARRYED TO
YE RIGHT HONOble RICHARD LORD BOYLE BARON
CLIFFORD & EARLE OF BURLINGTON IN ENGLAND
EARLE OF CORKE & LORD HIGH TREASVRER OF
IRELAND ; ALSO THREE SONS (VIZT) FRANCIS,
CHARLES, HENRY, & ONE DAVGHTER MORE THE
LADY FRANCES CLIFFORD, WHO ALL DYED
YOVNG. THIS NOBLE LADY, BEING OF YE
AGE OF 49 YEARS & jj MONETHS,
DEPARTED THIS MORTALL LIFE
HERE AT YORKE ON Ye 4 DAY
OF FEBRUARY IN Ye YEAR
OF OVR LORD 1643.
The table-tomb of the countess of Cumberland, of which an engraving is given in Drake's " Eboracum," was nearly destroyed at the fire of 1829, and has not been restored. It was probably erected by her son-in-law, Richard, earl of Burlington (so created 20 March, 1663-4), who was recorder of York from 1685 to 1688, and died in 1698, aged 86. His great- grandson, Richard, 3rd earl of Burlington, was the well-known amateur architect, under whose direction Kent designed a "new pavement" for the Minster -" a kind of Mosaic work, thought properest for a #Gothic building,"- which was carried out, and completed in 1736. Probably there are few persons who will not share the regret expressed by Britton, "that the noble amateur did not adapt the design of his pavement to the style and character of the edifice, instead of disposing of it in a sort of Roman pattern."
Henry, earl of Cumberland, husband of the above Lady Frances, was commander-in-chief of the king's northern army in 1642. He died at York, 11 Dec., 1643, in one of the canons' houses, within the Cathedral Close, and was buried at Skipton.
(36). Mrs. Elizabeth Downes, bur. ye twenty-sixth of March, 1644.
(37). Sr William Howard, bur. ye twenty-sixth of April, 1644.
(38). Major Clarke, bur. ye tenth of June, 1644.
Sir William Howard, of Brafferton, co. York, third son of William, lord Howard of Naworth. He was born in 1589, and died s. p.
(39). Sr Francis Armitage, bur. ye twelfth of June, 1644.
He was slain at York during the siege.
(40). The Lady Preston, bur. ye sixtenth of June, 1644.
Sir Francis Armitage, of Kirklees, bart., son and heir of John Armitage, esq. Bow-bearer of the Free Chase of Mashamshire in 1632. Created a baronet 15 Dec., 1641. Married in 1629 Katherine, daughter of Christopher Danby, esq., of Farnley and Thorpe Perrow, Lord of Mashamshire. She was baptized at Leeds, 29 Feb., 1611-12, and was buried at Wakefield, 13 Jan., 1646.
(41). Colonel Biron, bur. ye sevententh of June, 1644.
Probably Jane, daughter and sole heir of Thos. Morgan, esq., of Heyford Hall, co. Northants, and wife of Sir John Preston, Bart., of the Manor of Furness, co. Lane., whose nephew, Colonel Thomas Howard, was buried in the Minster in 1643. (See No. 22.)
(42). Major Huddleston, bur. ye sevententh of June, 1644.
Sir Philip Byron, a younger brother of John, first lord Byron, was slain on Trinity Sunday (June 16), during the siege of York, while repulsing an attack on the King's Manor. Sir Hen. Slingsby says, "Sr. Philip Biron, yt had ye guard at yt place, leading up some men, was unfortunately kill'd as he open'd ye doors into ye bowling green, whither ye enemy was gotten."-(Diary, p. 109.)
(43). Colonel Steward, bur. ye second of July, 1644.
Richard Huddleston, a lieutenant-colonel of Foot in the royal army, was slain at the same time as Sir Philip Byron, who has just been mentioned. He was the fourth son of Ferdinando Huddleston, esq., of Millum, co. Cumb., by Jane, daughter of Sir Ralph Grey of Chillingham. Baptized at Romaldkirk, 11 March, 1609-10. Will dated 9 Dec., 1642 [Pro. 15 April, 1665].
(44). Captaine Stanhope, bur. ye third of July, 1644.
(45). Colonel William Evers, bur. ye seventh of July, 1644.
(46). Colonel Charles Slingsbye, bur. ye seventh of July, 1644.
William, second son of William, fourth lord Eure, by Lucy, daughter of Sir Andrew Noell of Dalby, co. Line., was slain at the battle of Marston Moor, July 2nd. He married Margaret, daughter of Sir Thos. Denton of Hilsden, co. Bucks, by whom he left at his decease two daughters, Margaret, wife of Thos. Danby, esq., of Thorpe Perrow (see No. 67), and Mary, wife of William Palmes, esq., of Lindley.
" Lucia, dau. of the Honble Coll William Eure," was buried at Holy Trinity, Goodramgate, 18 Feb., 1642-3.
(47). The Bishop of Glosco, bur. ye ninth of July, 1644.
Sir Charles Slingsby, knt., a royalist officer, who distinguished himself at Newcastle-on-Tyne when that town was attacked by the Scots, in February, 1643-4, was slain at the battle of Marston Moor (July 2nd), his helmet and head being cleft by the stroke of a battle-axe. Sir Hen. Slingsby says,-" Here (Marston Moor), I lost a Nephew, Coll. John Fenwick, & a kinsman Sr. Chas. Slingsby, both of ym slain in ye feild ; ye former could not be found to have his body brought off; ye latter was found & buri'd in York Minster " (Diary, p. 114). I am unable to assign a place for Sir Charles in the family pedigree.
(48). Captaine Daulton, bur. ye twenty sixth of July, 1644.
Patrick Lindsay, minister of St. Vigeans, in Angus-shire, was consecrated bishop of Ross, 15 Dec., 1613, and translated to Glasgow, 16 April, 1633. He was excommunicated by the rebellious Assembly of the Kirk at Glasgow in 1638, and retired to England, where he died at Newcastle (according to R. Baillie) in 1641, but as others say, in the garrison of Newcastle, in 1643 or 1644.-(Keith's Scottish Bishops.)
(49). Dr. George Stanhope, bur. ye twenty-sixth of July, 1644.
John Dalton, esq., of West Hawkswell, co. York, eldest son of Sir William Dalton, of York, knt., one of the Council of the North, by Theophania, daughter of John Booth, esq., of Killingholme, co. Linc. Baptized at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 17 Sept., 1603. Married Dorothy, daughter of Conyers lord Darcy and Conyers of Hornby Castle. Captain Dalton died at Newark Castle, of wounds received at Burton-upon-Trent, while conducting the queen from York towards London. In his will, dated 9 Aug., 1643 [Pro. 31 July, 1645], he bequeaths "to my eldest sonn, William Dalton, all my armes, armour, and military furniture."
(50). Mr. William Ingram, ye sonn of Mr. Arthur Ingram, bur. 14th of 12ber, 1645.
George Stanhope, D.D., fourth son of Sir Edward Stanhope, of Grimston, near Tadcaster, one of the Council of the North. He was one of the chaplains in ordinary to the king. On 9 July, 1617, he was instituted to the vicarage of Flintham, co. Notts, which he resigned in 1620. On 27 May, 1619, he was instituted vicar of Burton Agnes ; on 5 July, 1628, he was admitted rector of Wheldrake ; on 4 Nov., 1631, he was collated to the precentorship of York ; and in 1641 he succeeded Hen. Wickham (see No. 12) in the rectory of Bolton Percy. As " Mr. George Stanhope " he was married, at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 16 Sept., 1619, to Susan Mole, by whom he had issue Edward, Elizabeth, Arthur, Frances, Arabella, Thomas, and Ann. Of these children, Thomas (bap. at St. Michael's, 23 April, 1638) became rector of Hertishorn, co. Derby, vicar of St. Mary's, Leicester, and chaplain to the earls of Chesterfield and Clare, and was father of George Stanhope, dean of Canterbury from 1704 to 1728. Dr. George Stanhope died intestate, and on 21 Dec., 1644, administration of his effects, with tuition of five of his children, was granted to Susan Stanhope, his widow, who was joined by Tho. Baduley, esq., of Durham, and Sir Edward Stanhope, of Grimston.
(51). Phineas Hodson, Dr. of Devinity, bur. ye 28th of November, 1646.
Eldest son of Arthur Ingram of Knottingley, gent., and grandson of Sir William Ingram, LL.D., of York, who was buried in the Minster in 1625. (See No. 113.)
(52). Colonel Fairfax, bur. ye sixtenth of December, 1646.
Phineas Hodson, whose parentage is unknown to me, was one of the
chaplains to king James I. On 2 May, 1608, he was instituted to the rectory of Sigglesthorne, which he resigned in July, 1624. On 25 Sept., 1611, he was collated to the chancellorship of York, which he held until his death. In 1634, he founded a Lectureship in York Castle, and endowed it with £25. per annum. He also left a rent-charge of £5. per annum for bread for the prisoners.
By his wife Jane (see No. 3), Dr. Hodson had twenty-four children, of whom only six appear to have survived him. In his will, dated 18 Nov., 1646 [Pro. 18 Feb. seq.], he mentions his sons Edward, Tobias, Timothy, Arthur, William, and John. To Tobias he leaves a "diamond ring won was bequeathed to me by my brother Eleazer Hodson decd."
The chancellor is said to have been ancestor of Sir Tho. Hodgson of Barnby Don, now represented by T. L. Hodgson, esq. of Highthorn, near Easingwould.
(53). Mr. John Peares, bur. ye twenty fourth of December, 1647.
In the absence of the christian name, it is not easy to identify Colonel Fairfax, but I believe him to have been the son of Francis, second son of Gabriel Fairfax, esq., of Steeton (Analecta Fairfaxiana, p. 176), and father of the Major Fairfax who died at York of wounds received in the battle of Marston Moor, and of whose will the following is the substance :- 1 Oct. 1644. I William Fairfax, Major of the Regiment of Colonel Lambert in the present service for the King and Parlamt, being now of perfect memory, praised be the Lord, albeit much weakened in the state of my body by many wounds lately received in the said service, and by reason of sicknes accompanyng the same.-As touching my temporal Estate, wch consisteth wholly (saving for some horses and armes, wth apparel and the like) in the arrerages of Pay now due unto me from the Parlament, both as Capteyne and Major, from the tymes of the dats of the severall Commissions to me till this tyme (saving such somms as I have received in part thereof), I doe hereby give and bequeath the said whole debts and arrerages of Pay, and all my goods whatsoever, unto my much honored and deare father Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Fairfax, whom I doe hereby make and constitute sole executor [Pro. 12 Nov. 1645, and administration granted to the executor].
(54). The Lady Gee, bur. ye sixth of September, 1649.
John Piers, registrar of the Exchequer Court of York, son of Tho. Piers of Hincey, co. Berks, and nephew of archbishop Piers. He married at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 6 Feb., 1591-2, Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Bennet, esq., of Clapcott, co. Bucks, and sister of John Bennet, LL.D., secretary to the Council of the North, afterwards M.P. for the city of York, and chancellor of the diocese.
(55). Sr. William Daulton, bur. ye twenty fifth of January, 1649.
Mary, widow of Sir William Gee of Bishop Burton, Knt., who died in 1611, and daughter of Tho. Crompton, esq., of Hounslow, co. Surrey. She erected the monument now in the south aisle of the choir.
(56). Mr. Will-. Hodson, ye sonn of Dr. Hodson, bur. ye thirtith of May, 1650.
Sir William Dalton, of York, Knt., one of the Council of the North, son of Tho. Dalton, gent., of Sutton in Holderness, by Anne, daughter of Sir Robert Tirwhit, of Kettleby, co. Linc. Knighted at Whitehall, 28 April, 1629 ; married Theophania, daughter of John Booth, esq., of Killingholme, co. Linc., and widow of - Agard. She died 18 Feb. 1605, aged 34, and was buried in the church of Holy Trinity, Goodramgate. (See No. 48.)
(57). Mr. John Matteson, bur. ye fourth of October, 1652.
William, son of Dr. Phineas Hodson, chancellor of York, was baptized at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 6 June, 1629. (See No. 51.)
(58). Edward Bowles, ye sonn of Mr. Edward Bowles, bur. ye 26th of September, 1654.
(59). The Lady Ireland, bur. ye thirtenth of November, 1654.
Edward Bowles (the father), the eminent Nonconformist divine, one of the four preachers for the city, appointed by lord Fairfax in 1644, resided in the Minster Yard. He was the son of the Rev". Oliver Bowles, rector of Sutton, co. Beds., and married Elizabeth, widow of John Robinson, esq., of Deighton, and daughter of Sir Tho. Hutton, of Poppleton, second son of Matthew Hutton, archbishop of York. She was buried at All Saints, Pavement, 20 Feb., 1661-2, and on the 22nd of August following, her husband was interred in the same church.
(60). Lady Bethell, bur. ye twelfth of December, 1654.
Probably Elizabeth, widow of Sir Francis Ireland, of Nostel, Knt., and daughter of William lord Eure (S. Yorks. ii. 215). She was sister, I believe, to Colonel William Eure, who was buried in the Minster in 1644. (See No. 45.) Sir Fras. Ireland died intestate, administration of his effects being granted 2 Aug. 1634, to Tho. Bell, of Malton, yeoman, to the sole use of Francis, Mary, and Elizabeth Ireland, his children, then minors. William Ireland, esq., of Crofton, near Wakefield, eldest son of Sir Francis, was captain of a troop of horse in the civil wars.
When Marmaduke Rawdon, the benefactor, was on a visit at York, in 1656, "he seldome went abrood but he was accompanied with some ladies, amongst which thir was one Madam Ireland, a yonge bewtie, the daughter of Sir Francis Ireland, in whosse company he tooke the most delight of aney." (Life of Harm. Rawdon of Work., Ed. Camd. Soc., p. 78.)
(61). Colonel Lilburne's Daughter, bur. ye third of March, 1654.
This lady is not recorded in Dugdale's Visitation or in the pedigree in Poulson's History of Holderness, and I regret my inability to identify her.
(62). Mrs. Mowles, bur. ye twenty fourth of April, 1654 (1655 ?).
Robert Lilburne, a commander in the Parliamentary army, and brother to the well-known Republican " free-born John," resided, at this time, in the King's Manor, York.
(63). Mr. Arthur Hodson, sonn of Dr. Hodson, bur. ye thirtenth of May, 1656.
Perhaps the mother-in-law of Dr. Stanhope, precentor of York, who married at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, in 1619, Mrs. Susan Mole. (See No. 49.) On Oct. 28, 1636, Mr. Ric. Baddeley and Mrs. Cassandra Mole were married at the same church.
The father of Mrs. Baddeley was a kind of Protestant Martyr, having got into the clutches of the Inquisition in Spain. Richard Baddeley was secretary to Tho. Morton, bishop of Durham, and wrote and printed his Life. (J. R.)
When the widow of Dr. Stanhope administered to his effects in 1644, she was joined in the bond by Tho. Baduley, esq., of Durham.
(64). Mr. George Bellewes, bur. ye twenty ninth of November, 1656.
Arthur, son of Dr. Phineas Hodson, chancellor of York, was baptized at St. Michael's-le-Belfrey, 22 March, 1626-7.
(65). Dr. Swinburne, bur. ye twenty eight of January, 1656.
(66). Dr. Micklewhate, bur. ye seventh of September, 1658. Joseph Micklethwaite, esq., M.D., of Swine in Holderness, eldest son of Elias Micklethwaite, alderman of York. He married at St. Martin's, Micklegate, 27 March, 1627, Ann, daughter of Percival Levitt of York, gent., sheriff in 1597-8, and widow of Christopher Topham, merchant, sheriff in 1622-3. His great-grandson, Joseph Micklethwaite, esq.; of Swine, M.P. for Hull, was created viscount Micklethwaite, 13 Geo. I., but the title expired with him in 1734.
Tobias, only son of Henry Swinburne, LL.D., judge of the Prerogative Court of York, by his first wife Helena, daughter of Bartholomew Lant, of Oxford. He was admitted LL.D. at Oxford, 6 July, 1652.
(67). Sr. Thomas Danbe, bur. ye eightenth of August, 1660.
(68). Mr. Hudson, bur. ye twenty ninth of April, 1663.
Sir Thomas Danby, of Thorpe Perrow, knt., lord of Mashamshire, died in London 5 Aug. 1660, and was buried (ut supra) in the north aisle of the choir. Son and heir of Christ. Danby, esq., of Farnley and Thorpe Perrow, by Frances, daughter of Edward Parker lord Morley, born in 1610 ; succeeded in 1624 ; high sheriff of Yorkshire in 1638 ; a colonel in the Royal army, and M.P. for Richmond in the Long Parliament. In 1630 he married Katherine, daughter of Christ. Wandesford, esq., of Kirklington. She died in childbed, 26 Sept. 1645. (Fisher's Mashamshire, pp. 271-276.)
(69). Mr. Young, bur. ye fifth of May, 1663.
(69a). " Dr. Marsh, ye reverend deane of Yorke, was buried in ye Cathedrall church the 15th of October, 1663." (Par. Reg., St. M.-Ie-B.)
(69b). "Mris Elizabeth Dalton, widow, was buried in y Cathedrall church ye 30th of Novemb : 1663." (Par. Reg.' St. M-le-B.)
In the south aisle of the choir, " by the wall side, under the 5th window, lyes a blue stone about 2 yds & z long, & plain, under wch was buried Richard Marsh, Dean of York, who dyed A.D. 1663 ; and an Escocheon of his Arms, depicted on a wooden frame, still hangs over him :-Gu. a Nagg's head couped ar.-Marsh (Impaling) Qrly. B. & Gu., on a bend A. 3 boars passt. sab., & a border 0.-Grice." (Torre, p. 257.)
Richard Marsh was born at Finchamstead, co. Herts, in 1585. On 17 Oct., 1614, he was collated to the vicarage of Birstal, co. York, which he resigned in 1662. On 30 Dec. 1625, he was collated to the stall of Rampton at Southwell. On 28 June, 1634, he was nominated to the prebend of Husthwaite at York, and installed 6 Aug. seq. On Sept. 25th in the same year, he was collated to a stall at Ripon. In 1636 he proceeded D.D. at Oxford. On 12 April, 1638, he was instituted to the vicarage of Halifax, and became shortly after an active justice of the peace for the West Riding of Yorkshire. In August, 1641, he succeeded Hen. Wickham (see No. 12) as archdeacon of York. When the deanery became vacant by the death of Scott in 1644, Dr. Marsh was nominated his successor, but could not take possession till after the Restoration, when he was installed 20 Aug., 1660. In 1662 he resigned the vicarage of Halifax, and his stall at Ripon, and dying October 13th, 1663, was buried (ut supra) near archbishop Hutton.
Dean Marsh was thrice married. His first wife was a Miss Stephens ; his second wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Robt. Batt, esq. of Oakwell Hall, near Birstal, died in childbed ; his third wife, who survived him, was Frances, daughter of Mr. Grice of Wakefield. (See No. 74 a.)
(70). Mrs. Catherine Armitage, bur. ye twentith of Jany., 1663.
(70a). The most Reverend Father in God Accepted, Lord Archbishop of York, primate of England, metropolitan, departed this mortall life at his house at Bishop's Thorpe near York (newly repaired at his great charge), on Monday the 28th of March 1664, in the 76th yeare of his age. After his death his corps was privately removed to York, & there for divers dayes deposited in that decent state that was suitable to the dignity of so greate a prelate ; and on Tuesday, the 3d of May was with all solemnity interred under the greate east window of the Cathedral church of St. Peter : the chief mourner was Mr. Stephen Frewen, the sole executor & only surviving brother of the defunct. The officers of arms attended this funeral, & the certificate here set forth was taken by Henry St. George, Esq., Richmond Herald, and attested by the said Mr. Stephen Frewen." (Certificate in Bigland's Observations on Parochial Registers, p. 22.)
" Mris Katherine Armitage was buried in ye Cathedrall ye 19th of Januarie, 1663." (Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
Probably Catherine, eldest daughter of Sir Francis Armitage of Kirklees, Bart., baptized at Hartshead 7 Dec. 1630. (See No. 39.)
HIC REQUIESCIT IN SPE, NOVISSIMAM PRÆSTOLANS TUBAM,
JOANNIS FREWEN RECTORIs ECCLESIÆ NORDIAMENSIS
IN COMITATU SUSSEXIÆ FILIUS NATU MAXIMUS
SAC. THEOL. PROFESSOR
COLLEGII B. MARIA MAGDALENE OXONIJ
ANNOS PLUS MINUS UNDEVIGINTI PRÆSES
ACADEMIA IBIDEM QUATER VICECANCELLARIUS
PECAN US GLOCESTRIÆ
POSTEA FACTUS Episcorus COVENTR: & LICHF:
DEINDE ARCHIEPISCOPUS EBORAC.
QUI INTER VIVOS ESSE DESIJT MAR. 28° AN. DOM. 1664
SUÆ ÆTAT. 76 PENE EXACTO.
To which the following addition has been made, showing the fate of the monument :-
HOC MONUMENTUM ANNO DOMINI
MDCCCXXIX PENS DEJECTUM EST,
QUUM INSANUS DEMENTIA
(HEU NIMIS PROSPERS)
HOC TEMPLUM FLAMMIS EVERTIT.
PRÆSULIS TAMEN NON IMMEMOR,
CUJUS FRATRE JUNIORI STEPHANO FREWEN ORTUS EST,
THOMAS FREWEN DE BRICKWALL IN
COMITATU SUSSEX ARMIGER, IMPENSIS
SUIS, HOC (ET ALIA MAJORUM
MONUMENTA) INSTAURARE CURAVIT,
A. D. MDCCCXL.
Arms.-The See of York impaling ermine, four bars azure, a demi lion rampant proper issuant in chief gules.-Frewen.
Accepted Frewen, bishop of Coventry and Lichfield, was translated to the see of York, 22 Sept. 1660, and enthroned on the 11th of October following. In his will, dated 22 May, 1663 [Pro. 23 July, 1664], he bequeaths "to every Bishop of this kingdome a ringe (none to be under the value of 30s.) haveing this inscription, 'Neg3 melior sum quam patres mei. 1 Re : 19. A. F.'"
(71). Captaine Sidnam, bur. ye sixtenth of August, 1664.
(72). Goustoves, ye sonn of Dr. Stones, bur. ye sixtenth of February, 1664.
Probably George, second son of John Sydenham, esq., of Brimpton, Co. Somerset, who is said by Burke (Extinct Baronetage) to have been a major in the king's army, and to have died in 1664-5, leaving a daughter Susan, who died unmarried in 1666.
The Sydenhams held property in Yorkshire. Sir Thos. Posthumus Hoby, knt., lord of the manor of Hackness, who died s. p. in 1641, settled the greater part of his estates upon the elder brother of the above George, whom he designates in his will, dated 28 March, 1640, as " my dearely beloved and esteemed cosen John Sydenham, the eldest sonne and heire of John Sydenham, late of Brimpton in the county of Somersett, esq. deceased, by my neere kinswoman Alice, his then wife, that was the daughter of Willm. Hoby, late of Hales in the county of Glocester, esq. likewise deceased." To " my cosen George Sydenham, the younger brother of the aforesaid John," the testator bequeaths the sum of £300.
John Sydenham, the "esteemed cosen," was created a baronet 28 July, 1641, and dying in the following year, was succeeded by his son, Sir John-Posthumus Sydenham.
(73). Mrs. Prinse, bur. ye twenty of March, 1664.
A son of Dr. Christopher Stone, chancellor of York. (See No. 98.)
(74). Captaine Looid, bur. ye twenty third of March, 1664.
(74 a). "Mris Frances Marsh, ye relict of Deane Marsh, was buried in Yorke Minster ye 25th of Julii, 1665." (Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
(74b). Marmaduke Carver, rector of Harthill, died in August, 1665, and was buried, according to Torre (p. 254), in the south aisle of the choir, near the 5th window, under a white stone, on which was formerly a broad plate bearing an inscription to his memory. Torre and Drake give copies of this inscription, but as they differ from each other, and are evidently very inaccurate, I append the version printed by
In her will, dated 3 April, 1665 [Pro. 11 Aug. seq.], "Frances Marsh of the citty of Yorke, widdow, the late wife and Relict of Richard Marsh, Docr. in Divinity, late Deane of the Cathedrall and Metropoliticall Church of St. Peter in Yorke," bequeaths all her lands, etc., at Plewicke, in the parish of Sandal Magna, co. York, to her "loveing sisters Anne Grice and Susanna Grice, their heirs and assigns for ever." She mentions her nephew John Grice, esq., and bequeaths £10. to Richard Grice, of Wakefield, gent.
Frances Marsh was the dean's third wife, and the daughter of Mr. Grice of Wakefield. (See No. 69a.)
(74c). "Sir Thomas Carnaby, whoe was unfortunately slaine by one Harland, was buried in Yorke Minster ye 22th of Septemb: 1665." (Par. Reg., St. M-le-B.)
Mr. Hunter in his History of South Yorkshire (i. 145) :-
LECTOR, SI PIETATIS AMATOR, SI DOCTRINÆ ESTIMATOR, SCIAS QUANTUS SUB HOC LAPIDE THESAURUS SITUS EST. MARMADUCUS CARVER, ECCLESIÆ HARTILLIENSIS QUONDAM RECTOR, CHRONOLOGLÆ ET GEOGRAPHIÆ SCIENTISSIMUS, LINGUARUM PERITUS, CONCIONANDO PREPOTENS. QUI CUM SCRIPTIS, AD INVIDIAM USQUE, DOCTIS, VERUM TERRESTRIS PARADISI LOCUM ORBI MONSTRASSET, AD CELESTEM QUEM PRÆDICANDO AUDITORIBUS COMMENDAVERAT, CUJUS ADEUNDI INGENTI DESIDERIO TENEBATUR, MORIENDO TRANSLATUS EST . . . DIE AUG. 1665.
Marmaduke Carver was ordained deacon 23 Sept. 1627, and priest 9 March seq., by the Archbishop of York. On 2 Jan. 1636-7, he was instituted to the vicarage of Skipwith, which he appears to have held about four years. His institution to Harthill has not occurred to me. In his will, dated 10 Aug. 1665 [Pro. 19 June, 1666], Marmaduke Carver of Harthill, clerk, bequeaths to his son Edward " the Orientall Bible and the Orientall Dictionary, in full satisfaction of his portion." He mentions his other children, Marmaduke, Charles, John, Anne, Elizabeth, and Abigail Carver, and appoints his wife Anne sole executrix.
The testator was succeeded in the rectory of Harthill by his son Edward, who was instituted 28 Nov. 1665.
(74d). " John Richmond, our Parish Clarke, was buried in ye Cathedrall Church ye 14th of March, 1665." (Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
Sir Thomas Carnaby was killed in an affray with Richard Harland in his house in Blake-street, 20 Sept., 1665 (Deps. from Work Castle, ed. Surt. Soc.), and was buried in the north aisle of the choir, eastward of the altar, under a blue stone, on which was formerly the following inscription:-
Here lieth the Body of Sir Thomas Carnaby, Knight and Colonel, who served his King and Country in the Time of King Charles I. and King Charles II. valiantly and faithfully. He died at the Age Of 46, the 20th Day of September, Anno Domini, 1665. Veni Domine Jesu." (Gent. 131.)
Torre (p. 221) gives a contracted version of the above inscription, and adds, " His Lady lyes also buried there, who dyed (blank) 1690." This was, doubtless, Dame Eleanor Carnaby of York, widow, who will be mentioned afterwards. (See No. 106.)
(74e). Judith, wife of Thomas Frewen, esq., died 29 Sept., 1666, and was buried in the Lady Chapel, near archbishop Frewen, under a large blue slab, on which is the following inscription :-
SUB HOC MARMORE SITA EST
JUDETHA NUPER UXOR THOMÆ FREWEN ARM:
FILIA ET UNICA HÆRES JOHANNIS WOLVERSTONE
DE FULHAM IN COMITATU MIDDLESEX, GENEROSI:
QUÆ POST QUINTUM PARTUM
SEP. 29. ÆTAT. SUB 27, NUPTIARUM 11. A.D. 1666
DUOS FILIOS, TOTIDEMQUE FILIAS SUPERSTITES
RELINQUENS, AD COELUM MIGRAVIT.
HORUM QUATUOR LIBERORUM (TRIBUS IN JUVENTA
MORIENTIBUS) EDWARDUS FREWEN MILES, DE BRICKWALL
IN COMITATU SUSSEX, BOLUS SUPERSTETIT:
POSTERI EJUS TAMEN JAM DIU EXTINCTI SUNT.
HOC NOVISSIMUM MONUMENTUM (PRISTINO PRORSUS
EFFRACTO) THOMAS FREWEN ARM: DE BRICKWALL,
ORTUS AB EODEM THOMA (ACCEPTI FREWEN D.D. NEPOTE)
ET UXORE SECUNDA BRIGITTA FILIA THOME LATON
DE LATON, MILITIS, PONI CURAVIT
A. D. MDCCCXXXVIII.
Arms.-Frewen (as in No. 70a) impaling (Or), a fess wavy between three wolves' heads erased (gules).-Wolverstone.
The first portion of the above inscription is nearly a copy of that on her monument (now in the north-east corner of St. Stephen's chapel, but formerly affixed to the south-east side of the pillar marked B on the plan), which reads as follows :-
HIC PROPE SITA EST
JUDITHA NUPER UXOR THOMÆ
FREWEN ARMIG. FILIA ET HÆRES
UNICA JOHANNIS WOLVERSTONE DE
FULHAM IN COM : MIDDLESEX GEN
QUÆ POST QUINTUM PARTUM
29° SEPT. ÆTAT. SUÆ 27 NUPTIARUM
UNDECIMO ANOQ3: DOM: 1666
DUOS FILIOS TOTIDEMQ3: FILIAS
AD COELUM MIGRAVIT.
Arms.-Frewen impaling Wolverstone.
Thomas Frewen, esq. of Brickwall, co. Sussex, husband Of the above Judith, was the son and heir of Stephen, younger brother of Accepted Frewen, archbishop of York. He married, secondly, in 1671, Bridget, daughter of Sir Thos. Layton of Layton, co. York, and co-heiress (with Elizabeth, wife of Roger Talbot, esq., of Wood End) Of her brother Charles. (See No. 81f.) She died at Brickwall, and was buried at Northiam, 11 Sept. 1679.
(74f). " Robert Graves, ye old Verger, was buried in ye Cathedrals Church ye 16th of Februarie, 1666." (Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
(74g). " Edward, ye sonne of Mr. Richard Robinson, was buried ye 22th of Septemb: 1667. This childe was afterwards taken up & buried with ye mother in ye Minster." (Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B. )
" Here lyeth the body of Robt Grave, who was Verger of this Church 38 years, & dyed aged 85 years, A. D. 1666. Under wch is cutt 2 shin bones in Saltire, & death's head in Chief, wth this Motto below, 'Memento Mori."' (Torre, 145.)
The "old verger" was buried in the nave, near the great west door. Perhaps he was of the same family as Hugh Graves, lord mayor of York in 1578, who was a younger son of Robert Graves of Cleckheaton in the West Riding.
(74h). " Ellenor, ye wife of Mr. Richard Robinson, was buried in ye Cathedrall Church ye 28th of September, 1667." (Par. Reg., St. H.-le-B.)
(74i). Anne, wife of Philip Prince, gent., died 1 March, 1667, and was buried in the south aisle of the choir. Torre says (p. 250), By the wall side lyes a new spotted marble, at the head whereof is engraven this lozenge Escocheon :- (Sab.) an Inescocheon inter an orle of 8 owles (0.),-and underneath this Epitaph, viz. -'Hic jacet Anna filia Joh'is Calverley, armigeri, et uxor Philippi Prince, generosi, cujus anima 1mo die Martii ano Dni 1667 ad superos migravit, ætatis suæ 33. Et corpus conditum prope exuvias Mathei Hutton, nuper Archiepi Ebor., proavi ejus. Christi redempta ad Christum expectat ; Vixit post funera virtus:' "
Eleanor Robinson and her infant child were buried, I believe, in the north aisle of the choir. Torre says (p. 221), -" At foot of last (Sir Tho. Carnaby,-see No. 74c), by the Pillar, lyes another blew stone, with this Inscription ingraven at the head, viz., 'Here lyeth the body of Elizabeth Robinson, daughter of . . Danby, Esq. . . . wife of Robert Robinson, Esq., being of . . years of age, who dyed 2 . day of Sept. A.D. 1667. Veni, Domine Jesu."
Except as to date, this inscription differs widely from the Belfrey register. Torre, however, was not always accurate, and at the time he took his "church notes," the above "blew stone" was evidently considerably worn. There can be little doubt, I think, that instead of Elizabeth, #Danby, and #Robert, we should read #Eleanor, #Carnaby, and Richard. Licence to marry Richard Robinson, esq., of York, and Mrs. Ellenor Carnaby was granted 26 Sept. 1666. To which of the numerous branches of the Robinson family the above Richard belonged, it has not yet been discovered. His wife was probably a daughter of Sir Thos. Carnaby. (See Nos. 74 c, 106.)
The escocheon and epitaph seen by Torre have disappeared, and in their place I find the following restoration of the old inscription :-
HIC JACET ANNA FILIA
JOHANNIS CALVERLEY ARM.
ET UXOR PHILIPPI PRINCE,
Anne, eldest daughter of John Calverley, esq., of Eryholme (son and heir of Sir John Calverley, of Littleburne, co. Durham, by Anne, daughter of Matthew Hutton, archbishop of York), was baptized at Eryholme, 19 May, 1635, and married there, 27 Aug,, 1663, to Philip Prince, of York, goldsmith. She died s. p.
(75). Leevetenant Colam, bur. ye twenty sixth of March, 1668.
(76). Mr. William Jenkings, bur. ye fourth of Aprill, 1668.
(77). Mr. Collins, bur. ye eleventh of March, 1668,
Probably William, second son of Tobias Jenkins, esq., of Grimston, near York, by Anthonina, daughter of Henry Wickham, archdeacon of York. He was 16 years old in 1666. (Dugd. Visit., ed. Surt. Soc., p. 363.)
(78). Mrs. Stearne, ye Daughtr of ye Ld. Archbishop Stearne, bur. ye 25 of March, 1669.
"Richard Collins, Esqr., Steward of St. Peter's, was buried ye 11th of March, 1668, in ye Cathedrall."-(Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
(79). Mr. Osburne, bur. ye fourtenth of April, 1669.
ANNA STERNE FILIA RICHARDI
AD COETUM VIRGINUM ABIIT
A. D. MDCLXVIII
ÆTATIS SUÆ XVII
VENI DOMINE JESU.
(80). Sr. William Ingram, bur. ye twenty eight of September, 1669.
DOMS GULIELS INGRAM E NOBI-
LIORI INGRAMIORU ORTUS PROSAPIA
EQUES AURATUS A JACOBE REGE
INSIGNITUS INTER ILLIUS ORDINIS
EBORACENSES ÆTATE MAXIMUS
CHARITATE ET VERO ECCLES: AN-
GLICAN: CULTU DITISSIMUS OBIJT
8 KAL: SEPTr: REGNANTE CAROLO
2°. ABUT IN LOCU HUNG 6 KAL:
EIUSd MENS. ANN: DOM. 1670.
MORIOR QUOTIDIE NON CONTINUO.
Sir William Ingram, of Little Cattal, co. York, Knt., second Son of Sir Will. Ingram, LL.D., of York, one of the Council of the North, by Catherine, daughter of John Edmonds, of Cambridge, gent. Born about 1600; married Catherine, daughter of Sir Edward Greville, of Milcote, co. Warwick, by whom he left no issue.
In a codicil to his will, dated 24 Sept., 1669, 21 Chas. II., Sir William Ingram desires "that my body may be buryed in the upper end or east end of the Quire or Chancell of the Minster or Cathedrall Church of Yorke, as neare as conveniently may be to the grave of my late deare Father. Item, I doe further will, devise and appoynt that one hundred pounds shalbe disbursed out of my personal estate, and bestowed in and about my funerall expences." The original will has not occurred to me, neither have I discovered when probate was granted, but a copy is entered in the register among wills proved in the months of November and December, 1669. This does not agree with the date of death on his monument. The latter, it should be observed, is now in the north aisle of the choir. In Torre's time it was affixed to the wall behind the altar screen, in the position marked C on the Plan.
(80a). " Mr. Joseph Michelwaite was buried in ye Cathedrall Church ye 30th of March, 1670." (Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
(81). Mr. Charles Procter, bur. ye twenty seventh of September, 1670.
Joseph Micklethwaite, of York, gent., second son of Joseph Micklethwaite, esq., M. D., of Swine (see No. 66). He was aged 26 in 166&, and died unmarried. By will, dated 29 Sept., 1669 [Pro. 5 April, 1670], he bequeaths his house in Lendal to his sister Anne, wife of Thomas Dickinson, esq., of Kirkby Hall (lord mayor of York in 1648 and 1657). (See No. 166.)
" Mr. Charles Procter, ye Minister of Darrington, was buried ye 27th of Septemb: 1670, in ye Minster." (Par. Reg., St. M.-le-B.)
On 4 May, 1635, Charles Prockter was ordained deacon and priest by Francis, bishop of Ely. On 15 Aug., 1666, being then S. T. B., he was collated to the vicarage of Darrington, co. York, which he held until his death. He was probably of the same family as Thos. Procter, verger, and Nichs. Procter, clerk of the vestry, who are both interred in the Minster. (See Nos. 84, 165.)
[Here occurs a chasm of nearly 12 years. The next burial in the Minster Register is dated 27 March, 1682.]
The Yorkshire Archaeological and Topographical Journal Vol. I, 1870
Information repoduced here by kind agreement with the Yorkshire Archaeological Society.
Colin Hinson ©2002