Hide

York St Helen parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

St Helen, Stonegate, also known as St. Helen in the Square. The living is a vicarage, in the deanery of York City. Population 678.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)

  • Baptisms: 1568-1890
  • Marriages: 1568-1967
  • Burials: 1568-1852

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600, 1601, 1626-1628, 1630-1635, 1637-1640, 1662-1669, 1671-1673,1675, 1677, 1679-1683, 1685-1688, 1691, 1703-1711, 1713-1719, 1723-1863, 1878-1892

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1568-1723, 1723-1863, 1863-1885;
  • M 1568-1723, 1723-1837,1837-1885

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. M 1690-1812, 2 vols; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  2. M 1701-1837; Index only; York Marriage Index
  3. M 1813-1837; Typed transcript, with index; City of York Family History Society; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research, York Central Library
  4. B 1813-1852; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.