Hide

York St Lawrence parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

United with St. Nicholas in 1606. This is a peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York. The living is a vicarage. Population, including St. Nicholas 799.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)

  • Baptisms: 1606-1638, 1661-1959
  • Marriages: 1606-1638, 1662-1975
  • Burials: 1606-1637, 1662-1867

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600*, 1601*, 1604*, 1628, 1629, 1632-1634, 1640, 1663, 1664, 1666-1668, 1672, 1673, 1675, 1686, 1696, 1698, 1700, 1701, 1703, 1704, 1707- 1754, 1756-1858

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1606-1812, 1813-1858, 1858-1886;
  • M 1606-1812, 1813-1837, 1837-1886

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1600; 1601; 1604 (St. Nicholas only); Printed transcript with index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  2. CMB 1606-1812; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 97 (Missing: Baptisms 1639-1661 and 1685-1688, except 1645, 1649, 1650, 1653; Marriages 1608-1613, 1637- 1662, 1665-1669; Burials 1638-1662); Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  3. M 1701-1837; Index only; York Marriage Index
  4. M 1620-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists; York Central Library

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.