York St Mary Castlegate parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
Baptisms and burials pertaining to the inmates of York Castle may be found amongst the registers of this parish. The living is a rectory, in the deanery of the City of York. Population 989.
Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)
- Baptisms: 1604-1974
- Marriages: 1604-1957
- Burials: 1604-1849, 1922-1928
- 1626, 1628-1631, 1633, 1634, 1636-1639, 1661-1663, 1665-1667, 1669,1671, 1673, 1675, 1677-1681, 1684, 1686-1699, 1701-1716, 1718-1728, 1730-1773, 1776-1780, 1782, 1783, 1785-1867, 1870
- C 1604-1837, 1838-1870;
- M 1604-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1604-1705; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 134; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- CMB 1705-1837 (missing, 1774-5, 1775, 1781, 1784); Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 136; Yorkshire Archaeological Society, Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- M 1701-1837; Index only; York Marriage Index
- M 1641-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
- B 1838-1849; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
(See also YAJ 15, where many extracts of the parish register entries are annotated with supplementary biographical data, Yorkshire Archaeological Society)
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.