York St Michael le Belfrey parish registers, The Minster Minster: Dates and current locations etc.
The Cathedral Church of St. Peter. The Minster, strictly speaking, is not a parish, and is physically located within the parish of St. Michael le Belfrey. Population, within the Liberty of St. Peter's (City and suburbs only) 924.
Deposited Registers (YML)
- Baptisms: 1686-1745, 1751-1804, 1883-1967
- Marriages: 1681-1753, 1762, 1887-1966
- Burials: 1634-1670, 1682-1812, 1814-1836
- 1814, 1815, 1817, 1818, 1820, 1824, 1835, 1836
Transcripts and Indexes:
- C 1686-1803; Typed transcript, with index; Robert H. Skaife; YAJ 6; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- M 1681-1736; Typed transcript, with index; Robert H. Skaife; YAJ 2; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- M 1736-1762; Typed transcript, with index; Robert H. Skaife; YAJ 3; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
- M 1701-1837; Index only; York Marriage Index
- M 1681-1762; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists; York Central Library
- B 1634-1836; Typed transcript, with index; Robert H. Skaife; YAJ 1; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
Note: Burials during the period 1670-1681, which are missing from the registers, have been filled in part, in the YAJ 1 volume, by Minster burials noticed in the registers of St. Michael le Belfrey, and contemporary Monumental Inscriptions.
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.