Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Hemingbrough parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Hemingbrough parish:

Hemingbrough, Incumbents transcription:

The List of Incumbents in St. Mary's Church, Hemingbrough.

The Minster Church
of St. Mary Hemingbrough


Rectors of St. Mary's Parish Church MINISTERS
1217/18-58Robert Marsh [de Marisco]
dean of Lincoln 1258-62/3
1258 ?Henry of Durham [de dunelmo] 1653William Cornwall ?
? 1272Richard of Middleton ? 1662Anthony Fido
1272-87Hugh de Evesham
cardinal 1281-7
1287-94Bogo de Clare
treasurer of York Minster 1285-92/4
1294-1309John de Drokenesford
bishop of Bath and Wells 1309-29
1309-1317Stephen de Maulay
archdeacon of Cleveland 1289-1317
1317-20Henry of Stamford, O.S.B.
prior of Finchale:elected bishop of
Durham 1316 but not confirmed
1664-7Arthur Squire M.A.
1320-48/9Jocelin Jean d/Ossat
[Gaucelinus Joannes de Ossa
cardinal 1316-48/9
1667-8Michael Doughty B.A.
1349-75Alan of Shotlington 1670John Wetherall
1375-1409Thomas Walworth, Lic.C.L.
canon of York 1386-1409;
vicar general of archbp. of York 1389
1670-77Thomas Revell
1409-1412Richard Pickering 1678-80Thomas Waterhouse B.A.
1412-26John Rickinghall, LL.D.
bishop of Chichester 1426-9
1680-82John Rayner B.A.
  1682-1705Charles Maslin
  1708-41Marmaduke Teasdale B.A.
Provosts of the Collegiate Church 1742-68William Potter M.A. father
  1769-78/9William Potter M.A. son
1427-8John Radburn 1779-93John Mallison
1428-9John Harpour 1793-94Isaac Tyson
1429-40John Withers 1794-1824William Caile
1440-58Thomas Caudell 1825-60John Ion M.A.
1458-71Thomas Portington
treasurer of York Minster 1477-85
1880-1905James Paton
1471-5Lionel Woodville
bishop of Salisbury 1482-4
1905-15William Peter Wright M.A.
1475-80James Preston, S.T.P.[i.e.D.D.] 1915-19John Francis Wilkinson L.Th.
1480-1515Thomas Babthorpe M.A. 1919-29Henry Percy Peacock
1515-31Robert Marshall M.A. 1930-33Charles James Branch-Evans
1531-47William Whitehead M.A. 1933-37Joseph Craig
[Collegiate Church dissolved 1547] 1937-70Felix Amcotts M.A.
  1973-75Ernest Robson Turnbull
  1975-81George Newham Coultas
CURATES 1982-85John Frederick Taylor
canon of York
  1985-91Geoffrey Owen Wilbourne
1547-74Gabriel Morland
holder of 6th vicar-prebend since 1537
1991-95Brian William Harris B.D.
1574/9-85[-1617]John Brooke  
1586-1602Thomas Knighton  
1602-48William Lindley M.A. Priests in Charge
1618 ?William Jackson  
   1996 - Anne Paskett
A Priest is there and a Church

Data transcribed by
Jack Parry.
from photography by Colin Hinson