Hide

Wawne parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town, in the middle-division of Holderness, Liberty of St. Peter; 5 miles from Hull and Beverley, 12 from Hedon, 34 from York. Population 251. The Church, a peculiar of the Chancellorship of York, is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Peter, in the deanery of Holderness.

Deposited Registers (East Yorkshire Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1653-1984
  • Marriages: 1653-1984
  • Burials: 1653-1961

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1598-1600, 1636, 1661, 1662, 1664, 1667, 1671-1674, 1680, 1684,1686, 1687, 1689, 1690, 1692, 1698, 1702-1704, 1707-1717, 1719, 1720, 1722-1730, 1732, 1733, 1735-1737, 1739-1830, 1832-1844, 1853-1857, 1859- 1870

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1707-1870;
  • M 1707-1812, 1815-1844

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. M 1700-1810; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  2. M 1754-1811; Typed transcript, with index; East Yorkshire Record Office
  3. M 1813-1837; Index only; East Yorkshire Marriage Index

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.