Wharram le Street parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish town, in the wapentake of Buckrose; 5½ miles from Sledmere, 6½ from Malton, 20 from York, 21½ from Beverley. Population 127. The Church, a peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York, is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Buckrose.
Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research)
- Baptisms: 1538-1696, 1702-1978
- Marriages: 1538-1696, 1702-1749, 1754-1836, 1838-1978
- Burials: 1538-1696, 1702-1978
- 1631, 1634, 1636, 1663, 1666, 1667, 1670, 1672, 1673, 1686, 1688,1689, 1696, 1698, 1700-1702, 1707-1826, 1828-1836
- C 1538-1707, 1707-1836, 1836-1887;
- M 1538-1707, 1707-1836, 1836-1888
Transcripts and Indexes:
- M 1538-1645; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
- M 1754-1837; Index only; East Yorkshire Marriage Index
- M 1813-1836; Typed transcript, no index; Margaret E. Smith; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.