Hide

Barton parish registers, Barton St Cuthbert Chapelry: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

Barton St. Cuthbert, a Chapelry in the parish of Gilling West, wapentake of Gilling East; 7 miles from Richmond and Darlington (Co. Durham). Population 436, including St. Mary.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1582-1871
  • Marriages: 1582-1754, 1755-1812*, 1813-1836, 1837-1978*
  • Burials: 1582-1892

  • * Includes Barton St. Mary

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1616, 1675, 1681, 1687, 1689, 1691, 1693, 1694, 1697-1709, 1711-1713, 1715-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725, 1727, 1728, 1731, 1732, 1735-1840, 1848-1871 (All at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds, plus one other, undated)

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1755-1840, 1841-1879*;
  • M 1619-1835* Together with Barton St. Mary

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. M 1750-1798; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  2. M 1813-1837; Index only; Joiner Marriage Index

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.