The Ancient Parish of BURNESTON
[Transcribed information mainly from the early 1820s]"BURNESTON, a parish in the wapentake of Halikeld, and liberty of Richmondshire; 3½ miles SSE. of Bedale. The church is a large and ancient edifice (see Churches for photograph) dedicated to St Lambert, and the living is a vicarage, in the patronage of Gregory Elsley, Esq. incumbent the Rev. Henry Elsley. Here is a small Methodist chapel; also a Free Grammar school, founded by one of the ancestors of the present Lord Rokeby, in 1680, together with a hospital for five poor parishioners, aged sixty years before their admission; the endowment is upwards of sixty pounds per annum. Pop. 288."
Information on the following places in this Parish is contained on a supplementary page.
- Here are photographs of Churches etc. in the parish:
- St Lambert's Church, Burneston (view 1). (With short history).
- St Lambert's Church, Burneston (view 2).
- St Lambert's Church, Burneston (view 3).
- The Methodist Church, Carthorpe. (With short history).
- St. John the Baptist's Church, Leeming. (With short history).
- The Methodist Church, Leeming. (With short history).
- St. Augustine's Church and Village Hall, Leeming Bar. (With short history).
- John Ellerton has transcribed the following extracts from the parish registers:
- Burials for some of the years between 1788 and 1806.
- Burials for some of the years between 1740 and 1782.
- Baptisms for some of the years between 1738 and 1805
- Burials 1828.
- Baptisms, 1784-5.
- 1738-9 Baptisms and marriages
- 1754-5 Baptisms and marriages
- 1741-3, 1751-3 Marriages
- 1780-1782 Marriages
- The whereabouts and dates of the Registers etc. for the Parish of Burneston.
- The whereabouts and dates of the Registers etc. for the Chapelry of Leeming.
- Transcript of the entry of "professions and trades" in the Baines's Directory of 1823, of the North Riding.
- Transcript of the entry of "professions and trades" in the White's Directory of 1840, Yorkshire section.
- Transcript of the entry of "professions and trades" in the Bulmers Directory of 1890. of the North Riding.
- There is further information about this parish from the National Gazetteer 1868, Yorkshire extracts.
- There is further information about this parish from the Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of England 1835, Yorkshire extracts.
- There is further information about this parish from the Bulmer's 1890 History and Directory of the North Riding.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Burneston to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SE308850 (Lat/Lon: 54.259747, -1.528691), Burneston which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- This parish is covered by the following Society: