Hide

Catterick parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish in the wapentake of Hang East; 5 miles from Richmond, 7 from Bedale, 13 from Northallerton, 15 from Darlington (Co. Durham), and Gretabridge, 17 from Yarm, 21 from Bishop Auckland (Co. Durham), 39 from York. Population 561. The Church is a vicarage, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester, dedicated to St. Anne.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1653-1965
  • Marriages: 1653-1966
  • Burials: 1653-1988

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1616, 1637, 1674, 1680, 1681, 1687, 1689, 1690, 1692, 1694, 1696,1698-1711, 1714-1719, 1721, 1723, 1725-1728, 1730, 1732-1764, 1766-1789, 1791-1821, 1823, 1824, 1827, 1828, 1831-1840, 1842-1853, 1855, 1856, (all at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds).

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1615, 1653-1878;
  • M 1615, 1653-1885

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1653-1810; M 1653-1812; B 1653-1809; Manuscript index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  2. M 1780-1800; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.