Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for East Witton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

East Witton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish in the wapentake of Hang West; 2 miles from Middleham, 4 from Leyburn, 8 from Masham, 41 from York. The Church, a handsome modern structure, built by the Earl of Ailesbury in 1809, is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Ella, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester. East Witton is divided into two townships, called East Witton parish within, and East Witton parish without; population of the former being 444, and the latter, 303.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1670-1995
  • Marriages: 1670-1978
  • Burials: 1670-1955
  • Banns: 1754-1931

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1663, 1674, 1678, 1680, 1681, 1687, 1689-1691, 1693, 1694, 1696,1697*, 1698, 1699, 1701-1706, 1708, 1710-1713, 1715-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725-1728, 1730-1768, 1770-1795, 1797-1842, 1844-1847, (all at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds).
    * Filed with Glebe Terriers at Chester R.O. Ref: CD/RG-66.

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1663-1750, 1751-1847;
  • M 1663-1750, 1751-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. C 1664-1837; M 1671-1837; B 1670-1837; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.