Grinton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Grinton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/NRY/YPR_NRY.txt

The place:

A parish in the wapentake of Hang West; 1 mile from Reeth, 7 from Leyburn, 10 from Richmond, 49 from York. Population 689. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Andrew, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

• Baptisms: 1640-1866
• Marriages: 1640-1950
• Burials: 1640-1871

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1674, 1687-1689, 1693, 1697-1699, 1701-1718, 1721, 1723, 1725-1730,1734-1821, 1823-1853, 1875 (All at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds, plus one undated, c. 1717- 1737)

IGI Coverage:

• C 1640-1823, 1824-1847, 1848-1866;
• M 1640-1876

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1640-1837; Consolidated Index at Northallerton Record Office, Swaledale; North Yorkshire County Record Office
2. CMB 1640-1807; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 23; North Yorkshire County Record Office, Yorkshire Archaeological Society
3. CMB 1640-1807; Transcript with corrected index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD: P10;
4. C 1640-1866; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
5. M 1640-1898; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
6. M 1640-1802; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
7. M 1802-1812; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
8. B 1640-1871; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
9. M 1565-1703; Typed transcript; Cleveland Family History Society (purchase).

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---