Hide

MALTON:

hide
Hide
Hide

Transcriptions of the Births, Marriages and Deaths
from the Malton Messenger for the year 1854

1st April 1854

BIRTH

  • March 4, at Pickering, the lady of John DEW, Esq., surgeon, of a son

MARRIED

  • March 7, at Westow, Thomas Henry PHILLIPS, esq., to Caroline, daughter of the late James Wyatt, Esq.
  • March 14, at St. Mary's church Old Malton, Mr. F. LINDSLEY, to Mrs. Loft.
  • March 18, Mr. Richard DIXON, to Miss Mary Ann WALKER, both of Norton.
  • March 18, at Norton, Mr. James SETCHFIELD, to Miss AUDNER both of Norton.

DIED

  • On Friday, March 3, at Westow, Elizabeth, relict of Mr. John RICHARDSON, farmer aged 71.
  • On Tuesday, March 7, at Pickering, the wife of Mr. John WHITELOCK, after giving birth to twins.
  • On Thursday, March 9, at Snainton, Thomas Craven HODGESON, son of Mr. John HODGESON farmer.
  • On Friday, March 10, at New Malton, John KING, son of Mr. Robert KING, Miller.


6th May 1854

BIRTHS

Copy unreadable

MARRIAGES

  • Saturday, April 13, at Thornton, Mr Thomas SUNMAN, Habton to Jane, daughter of Mr. James WOOD, farmer, Habton.
  • Tuesday, April 18, at Norton, Mr. Thomas JUDSON, Scagglethorpe, to Martha, youngest daughter of the late Mr. Thomas WALLGATE, Lockington, near Beverley.
  • Wednesday, April 19, at Topcliffe, Count Learcaye SUMINSKI, of Tuts Castle, West Prussia, to Ann Elizabeth, only daughter of George HUDSON., esq. of Newby Parke.
  • Thursday, April 20, at Coxwold, Mr. George SMITH of Newburgh Park to Ann, eldest daughter of the late Mr. William BARWICK, of Coxwold.
  • Saturday, April 22, at Wetwang, Mr. James HEPPLE, to Miss Sarah DOWSON.
  • Saturday, April 29, at the Superindenent Registrars Office, Malton, Mr. Thomas MOOR to Miss Mary WATERS, both of Rillington.
  • Monday, May 1, at the Superindenent Registrars Office, New Malton, Mr. Robert WARD, to Miss Hannah BOYES both of Norton.

DIED

  • On Friday, March 31, at New Malton, Mr. Christopher POSTILL, wheelright, aged 66 years.
  • On Saturday, April 1, at New Malton, Mrs. Elizabeth WARWICK, aged 68.
  • On Monday, April 3, at Grove House, near Malton, Mr. Robert HESSLETINE, of Hambleton House, Aged 41.
  • On Wednesday, April 5, at Birmingham, Mrs. SHAMMON, eldest daughter of Mr. Antonty CATTANEO of Malton.
  • Same day, at Malton, Hannah Eliza, youngest daughter of Mr. James STABLER, aged 2 years.
  • On Thursday, April 6, at Old Malton, Mr. Benjamin BAKER, of the Wentworth Arms Inn, aged 32.
  • On Friday, April 7, at Malton, Jane daughter of Mr. James STABLER, blacksmith aged 3 years.
  • On Saturday, April 8, at Acklam, Ann the wife of Mr. Emmanuel GILLIARD
  • On Monday, April 10 , at Brompton, aged 21, Hannah the wife of Mr. Harrison WINN, weaver.
  • Same day, at Mr. John ALLISON's, Sutton Forest, William WRIGGLESWORTH, formerly of Bugthorpe grange, farmer, in the 90th year of his life.
  • On Tuesday, April 11, at Sherburn, James WILLIAMSON eldest son of James WHITAKER, ESQ., of Bramham house near Tadcaster aged 13.
  • On Wednesday, April 12, at Bulmer, Mrs. James GOODRAM widow of the late James GOODRAM, valet to the Earl of Carlisle.
  • On Thursday, April 13, at Malton, Thomas WHITEHEAD, aged 18 years.
  • On Friday, April 14, at ? , near Castle Howard, Leonard only son of Henry H??, farmer, aged 3 years.
  • Same day at Malton of Typhus Fever, Richard HAYES aged 27 years.
  • On Wednesday, April 19, at Habton, Hannah wife of Mr. James WOOD, farmer, aged 38.
  • On Thursday, April 30 at Malton, Matthew CROSER, aged 16.


3rd June 1854

DEATHS

  • On Thursday, June 8, at Hutton's Ambo, William Knapton, only son of Mr. T. DARLEY
  • On Saturday, June 10, at Malton, Mr. George BELLERBY, roper, aged 82.
  • On Sunday, June 11, at the Workhouse, Malton, Mrs. Sarah BRIGNALL, aged 76.
  • On Tuesday, June 13, at Pocklington, Mr. WM. TINDALE, aged 59.
  • Same day, at the Workhouse, Malton, Christopher COCKERILL, aged 65.
  • On Thursday, June 15, at Malton, of scarlet fever, Ellen, daughter of Mr. Davis BROWN, Coal Dealer, aged 4 years.
  • Same day, at Norton, Mr. John ADAMSON, brickmaker, aged 84 years.
  • On Friday, June 16, at Malton, of scarlet fever, William Henry, son of Mr. Charles DIXON, tailor, aged 7 years.
  • On Sunday, June 18, at Malton, of scarlet fever, Alonzo, son of Mr. Edward LONGBOTHAM, druggist, aged 2 years.
  • On Monday, June 19, at Malton, of scarlet fever, Sarah, daughter of Mr. Robt. HARRISON, basketmaker, aged 11 years.
  • Same day, at Malton, William O'NEIL, better known by the cognomen of "Gaff Yuck", aged 40 years.
  • On Saturday last, at Malton, of scarlet fever, Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. Christopher O'BRIEN, aged 4 years.
  • On Monday last, at the Workhouse, Malton Mrs Elizabeth GROVES, aged 78.


5th August 1854

DEATHS

  • July 10, at Norton, Samuel, son of Mr. Samuel BIELBY, farmer, aged 10 months.
  • Wednesday, July 12, At Appleton-le-Street, Maria FOX, aged 1 year.
  • Saturday, July 15, at Sutton Cottae, Norton, Anne Augusta, daughter of the Rev. W. POUND, aged 12 years.
  • Sunday, July 16, at Old Malton, Mrs. Elizabeth COOPER, aged 70 years.
  • Monday, July 17, at Langton, Mrs. Mary FLINTOFF, aged 70 years.
  • Tuesday, July 18 at Mennithorpe, Mr. matthew SOLLITT, farmer, aged 21 years.
  • Wednesday, July 19, at Hovingham, aged 55, Mr. Wm. SKELTON, for nearly for nearly 22 years carrier between York and Hovingham.
  • Thursday, July 20, at Castle Howard, Mrs, Hefry KIMBERLEY, aged 33 years.
  • Monday, July 24 at Welham, near Malton, Hannah, daughter of Mr. John HOPPER, farmer, aged 23 years.
  • Same day, at Norton, Hannah, the wife of Mr. Richard GRAY, aged 30 years.


29th August 1854

BIRTHS

  • On Saturday, July 20, at her father's house, Castlegate, York, Mrs. T. BOLLAND, of Hutton Lodge, of a daughter.
  • On Wednesday, August 16, at Sinnington Lodge, the lady of H.J. LESLET, Esq., of a son.
  • On Monday, August 21, at Snainton, the wife of Robert MEGGINSON, Esq., of a daughter.

MARRIED

  • On Tuesday, August 8, at St. Michael's Church, Malton, Hirst WALKER, R.N., of Wakefield, to Emily, second daughter ofn Edward ROSE, Esq., of Malton.
  • On Sunday, August 20, at Norton, James ALLEN, shoemaker, to Harriet THORPE, both of Norton.

DIED

  • On Saturday, July 20, at Low Hall, Brompton, Francis Darby, infant son of the Rev. John BLAIR.
  • On Sunday, August 6, at Kirby-Morrside, Henry, the eldest son of mr. JACKSON, schoolmaster, aged 32.
  • On Monday, August 7, at North Grimston, Mr. R. KNEESHAW, aged 70.
  • Same day, at Malton, after a long illness, Mr. Thomas NELSON, horse dealer, aged 53.
  • Same day, at Brompton, Mr. Thomas WEBSTER, aged 84.
  • Same day, at Great Habton, Isabella, wife of Mr. Thos. Simpson, labourer, aged 70.
  • On Tuesday, August 8, at Brompton, Mr. M. SMITH, weaver, aged 73.
  • Same day, at Malton, Mrs. Mary LISTER, aged 52.
  • Same day, at High Hutton, Ezard, son of James PUCKERING, labourer, aged 3 years.
  • Same day, at Malton, Ann, the wife of Mr. Foster STEELS, showmaker, aged 78.
  • On Thursday, August 10, Mr. William CRAVEN, farmer, Acklam, aged 78.
  • On Saturday, August 12, at Pasture Cottage, Malton, John eldest son of Mr. John RACE, aged 20 years.
  • On Friday August 18, at Norton Villa, William HARDING, aged 29.
  • Same day, at Norton, George son of Thomas WILSON, aged 16 months.
  • On Saturday, August 19, at Ryton, Mr. Wm. WHITFIELD, farmer, aged 78.
  • On Monday, August 21, at Marton-cum-Grafton, the Rev. John HARTLEY, Incumbent of Boroughbridge, aged 76.
  • On Tuesday, August 22, at Norton, Mrs. Ann RIGG, aged 68 years.
  • Same day, at Norton, Richard C????, aged 24.
  • On Wednesday, Aug 23, at Norton, Mary COARTS, aged 15.
  • On Saturday, August 26, at Norton, of cholera, Rachael HISPS, aged 67.
  • Same day, at Malton, William Dent TAYLOR, son of Mr. Walter TAYLOR, aged 2 and a half years.


7th October 1854

BIRTHS

  • On Friday, Sept. 1, at Newcastle, the wife of Mr. John ETTY, late of Malton, of a daughter.
  • On Friday, Sept 15, at Arncliffe Hall, North riding, the wife of Douglas BROWN, Esq., barrister-at-law, of a son.

MARRIED

  • On Saturday, Sept 2, at Old Malton, Mr. John REED, shoemaker, to Miss Hannah BENSON, both of old Malton.
  • On Tuesday, Sept 5, at Sledmere, the Rev. Geo. CHUDDUS, M.A., to Jane, youngest daughter of John SWALE, Esq., of Crrom, and Niece to Liut-General SANDWITH.
  • Same day, at Paddington, London, Zebulon MENNELL Esq., surgeon, of Malton, to Mary Elizabeth, only daughter of the late Thomas DRUMMOND, Esq. of Drummond Lodge.
  • On Saturday, Sept 9, at the Superindtendent Registrer's Office, Malton, Mr. John COLLINSON, tanner, to Mis Elizabeth PECKETT, both of Malton.
  • On Tuesday, Sep 12, at Gilling, Mr. Robert DALE, of York, solicitor, to Annie, eldest daughter of the late Mr. John CATTLEY, of Terrington.
  • On Wednesday, Sept 13, at Newcastle, Mr. G. BRADLEY, (one of the proprietors of the Newcastle Guardian) to Sarah, daughter of the late Joseph MILBOURNE, Esq. of Malton.
  • On Thursday, Sept. 14, at Settrington, Mr. L. F. M'ALLISTER, of Huddersfield, to Elizabeth, youngest daughter of the late Richard WARDELL, of Settrington.
  • On Monday, Spet 18, at Malton, Mr. CRAVEN, farmer, of Acklam, to Miss Ruth FEASBY, of the same place.
  • On Wednesday, Sept 20, at Appleton-le-Street, Mr. Thos, BANKES, farmer, South Holme, to Anne, third daughter of Mr. Wm. AUDCAR, farmer, of the former place.

DIED

  • On Monday, August 28, at Old Malton, FANNY, daughter of Mr. William DOBSON, aged 11 years.
  • On Tuesday, August 29, at Malton, Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. Feathersone JACKSON, aged 11 months.
  • On Thursday, August 31, at Slingsby, in the 55th year of his age, Mr. William SMITH, joiner, &c., much and deservedly Respected by a large circle of friends and acquaintance.
  • On Monday, Sept 4, at Malton, Mr. Edward ELLA, spirit merchant, aged 54 years.
  • On Monday, Sept 11, at Malton, of measles, aged 17 months, Maria, daughter of Mr. G. STAMPER, butcher.
  • On Wednesday, Sept 13, at his residence, Shirley Park, Surrey, John SCOTT, Earl of Eldon.
  • On Sunday, Sept 17, at the Union House, Malton, Mr. William sPANTON, aged 71.
  • On Wednesday, September 20, at Malton, Mr. Benjamin DUNNING, Cartwright, aged 56.
  • On Monday, September 21, at Old Malton, Sarah, wife of Mr. John CRAVEN, aged 56 years.
  • On Friday, September 23, at Malton, Rosa, fifth daughter of Mr. William ANDERSON, Gunsmith, aged 15 months.
  • Same day, at Malton, Elizabeth Anne, second daughter of Mr. Robert HATFIELD, Grocer, Finkle-Street, aged 2 years.
  • On Sunday, September 24, at York, Mr. John NORTH, Printer, aged 48.
  • Lately, at Malton aged 57, Grace, wife of Mr. Francis BURKILL, Cordwainer.
  • On Thursday, Sept. 28, Mr. Mark FEETENBY, of Nunington, aged 68.
  • On Thursday, September 28, at Norton, Miss LEEFE, aged 54 years.


4th November 1854

BIRTHS

  • On Thursday, October 19, at Aldby Park, Mrs. DARLEY, of a son.
  • On Friday, October 27. at Malton, the lady of J.J.WRIGHT, Esq., M.D., of a daughter.
  • Same day, at Burythorpe, the lady of William PRESTON, Esq., of a daughter.

MARRIED

  • On Saturday, October 7, at Foxholes, Mr. H. HODGSON, millwright, to Amelia, youngest daughter of Mr. EZARD, Norton.
  • Same day, at Kirby Moorside, Mr. Francis RICKABY, stonemason, to MARY, daughter of Mr. Thos. BOYES, of Appleton-le-Moor.

DIED

  • On Sunday, Sept. 24, at New Orleans, Thos. LEEFE, Esq., son of the late Adjutant John LEEFE, of Canal House, near Malton, aged 51 years.
  • On Wednesday, October 4, Mary, wife of Mr. John WELDON, jun., farmer, of Farndale, Kirby Moorside, aged 28.
  • On Tuesday, October 10, at Coxwold, Mr. William ROBERTS, shoemaker, aged 56 years.
  • On Wednesday, October 11, at Wakefield, very suddenly, Lieut. h. WALKER, R.N. much respected.
  • On Thursday, October 12, at Malton, Ann, daughter of Mr. henry BROWN, stonemason, aged 5 years.
  • Same day, at Malton, Frances Louisa, daughter, of Mr. Joseph LUCAS, ironfounder, aged 2 years.
  • On Sunday, October 15, at Malton, John, son of Mr. Metcalf ASH, whitesmith, aged 4 years.
  • On Saturday, October 22, at Beverley, John DORSEY, private in the 7th (Queen's own) Hussars; one of the detachment sent from Leeds to escort her Majesty in her recent progress in Hull.
  • On Sunday, October 22, at Mennythorpe, Mrs. Ann BROUGH, widow, aged 62 years.
  • Same day, at Malton, Ann, daughter of Mr. Alfred BROWN, joiner, aged 4 weeks.
  • On Monday, October 23, at Malton, Sarah, daughter of Mr. Andrew THOMPSON, aged 4 years.
  • On Thursday, October 26, at Langton, Hannah, eldest surviving daughter of Mr. John BURNETT, farmer, aged 17 years.


2nd December 1854

BIRTHS

  • On Sunday, November 19, at Manchester, the wife of W. R.C. ATKINSON, of a son.
  • On Monday, November 20, at Spring Cottage, Norton, Mrs. Wm. L'ANSON, of a son.

MARRIED

  • On Tuesday, November 14, at Bridlington, Mr. William ROUNDING, of Winteringham, to Miss Hannah ROBINSON, of Buckton, near Bridlington.
  • On Monday, November 27, Mr. James READER, to Miss Margaret THOMPSON, both of Slingsby.

DIED

  • On Friday, November 3, at Old Malton, Mrs. Fanny NENDICK, aged 89 years.
  • On Sunday, November 5, at Old Malton, Mrs. Elizabeth CRISTELOW, aged 70 years.
  • On Monday, November 6, at Malton, Ann, the wife of Mr. John ROBINSON, tailor, aged 66.
  • On Thursday, Nov. 9, at Norton, Elizabeth, daughter of Francis BROWN, waterman, aged 14.
  • On Monday, Nov. 13, at Swinton, Mary, the wife of Mr. William DOBSON, aged 83 years.
  • Same day, at Great Ouseburn, Barbara, eldest daughter of the late Mr. John LEE, builder, Malton, aged 32 years.
  • On Saturday, November 18, At Amotherby, and formerly of Settrington Wood House, Mr. John CARR (or CARE), aged 76 years.
  • On Monday , November 20, at Swinton, Mr. George REVELEY, Labourer, aged 69 years.
  • Same day, at New Malton, very suddenly, of Cholera, Mr. George fOSTER, Cordwainer, aged 52 years.
  • On Thursday, November 23, at New Malton, Hannah WRAY aged 17 years.
  • On Sunday, November 26, after a long and painful illness, Elizabeth MAGSON, in the 31st year of her age.

film of The Malton Messenger
1854
Transcribed by Andrew Sefton ©2001

Andrew also has his own website.