Hide

Pickering parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Pickering parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish and market in the wapentake of Pickering-Lythe; 8 miles from Kirkby Moorside, 9 from Malton, 19 from Scarborough, 21 from Whitby, 27 from York, 226 from London. Population 2,746. The Church, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York, is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Peter, in the deanery of Rydale.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1559-1607, 1616-1883
  • Marriages: 1559-1607, 1616-1921
  • Burials: 1559-1607, 1616-1871
  • Note: CB 1653-1657 have separate entries for Goathland and Levisham

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600, 1601, 1622, 1661, 1662, 1679, 1681, 1684, 1694-1873

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1709-1873;
  • M 1709-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CM 1559-1607, 1616-1849; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  2. M 1770-1800, 1822-1827; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  3. B 1559-1607, 1616-1871; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  4. C 1813-1867; Ryedale Family History Group (purchase).
  5. B 1905-1980, Pickering cemetery; Ryedale Family History Group (purchase).

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.