Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Scarborough parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Scarborough parish:

Scarborough, Vicars transcription:

The List of Vicars in St. Mary's Church, Scarborough.


c 1189Gilbert of Tours 1667William Hodgson
1226Richard of Chauseye 1676Noel Boteler
Henry [First Presentation by the Abbot and Convent of Citeaux] 1696John North
1268Roger of Scarborough 1708Henry Docker
1290Thomas of Ruston 1721Theophilus Garencières
1291William of Langtoft 1750John Morfitt
1313William of Wansford 1782John Kirk [Laid Foundation Stone of Christ Church]
1320Robert of Scarborough 1828Michael Hodsell Miller
1335John Belter [Last Presentation by the Abbot and Convent of Citeaux] 1848John William Whiteside
1349Robert Estiby of Skipsea 1864Richard Frederick Lefevre Blunt [Bishop Suffragan of Hull]
c 1362Henry Bentbow of Skipsea 1905Thomas Enraght Lindsay [Archdeacon of Cleveland]
1381John Goxhill 1913Cecil Henry Hamilton Cooper [Archdeacon of York]
1386John Coke 1923John Wynyard Capron
c 1388John Folk 1930Anthony Basil Carter [Archdeacon of Cleveland]
1397Richard of Askham 1937Charles Patteson [Canon of York]
1408Richard Shropham [First Presentation by the Prior and Convent of Bridlington] 1944George Frederick Townley [Canon of York, Archdeacon of York, Bishop of Hull]
1414Robert Abraham 1948Frank Edward Ford [Canon of York, Archdeacon of the East Riding]
1454Robert Kilham [Canon and Chancellor of Bridlington] 1958Douglas Oxby Parker [Canon of York]
1464Robert Sutton [Canon of Bridlington] 1964John Keys Fraser [Canon of York]
1475Thomas Bedford 1981Edwin Alan Crofton
1485Richard Tunstall 1992Robert William Jackson
1494William Penet 2002Martyn Philip Dunning
1501Thomas Roxby   
1503Robert Ogram   
1506William Evers   
1510Richard Bull [Last Presentation by the Prior and Convent of Bridlington]   
c 1535William Bravyn   
c 1558William Newton   
1558Henry Langdale   
1602William Ward   
1608Timothy Taylor   
1630William Simpson [Ejected 1645 - Reinstated 1660]   
John Boatman [Intruder during the Commonwealth]   
Wood of Whitby [Intruder during the Commonwealth]   
Robert Steele [Intruder during the Commonwealth]   

Data transcribed by
Jack Parry.
from photography by Colin Hinson