Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Sheriff Hutton parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Sheriff Hutton parish:

Sheriff Hutton, Vicars transcription:

The List of Vicars in St. Helen's Church, Sheriff Hutton.

Vicars of Sheriff Hutton
since 1281

InstitutedNamePatronVacated byIn the reign of
1281Wm de GartonPrior of Marton Edward I
1316Henry de BurtonPrior of Marton Edward II
1340Wm de CodelyngsJno de Gomlyngs Edward III
Wm AslabyJno de GomlyngsMortEdward III
1349Wm de CodelyngsJno de Gomlyngs Edward III
Jno de UlseleyPrior of MartonResignationEdward III
1377Wm de CraykePrior of MartonResignationRichard II
1401Adam de EborPrior of Marton Henry IV
1402Roger de BrandesbyPrior of Marton Henry IV
Robert de CavePrior of MartonMortHenry IV
1409Wm BardsayPrior of MartonResignationHenry IV
1466John ElingwaldPrior of MartonMortEdward IV
1487Wm NelsonPrior of Marton Henry VII
1516Richard MortonPrior of MartonPrivationHenry VIII
Jno GambePrior of MartonMortHenry VIII
1554Wm SpencerMaria ReginaResignationMary
Robert ByarMaria Regina Mary
1572Christ MattisonArchbishop of YorkMortElizabeth
1573Thos RichardsonArchbishop of YorkResignationElizabeth
1583Jno CrosbyeArchbishop of YorkMortElizabeth
1585Bartinus HardemanArchbishop of YorkMortElizabeth
1628Ralph DryArchbishop of York Charles I
1638Wm LuckeArchbishop of York Charles I
1665Samuel TaylorArchbishop of YorkMortCharles II
1680Jos CresseyArchbishop of YorkMortCharles II
Lionel JacksonArchbishop of YorkCess fallenCharles II
1700Edward WilleyArchbishop of YorkMortWilliam III
1735Richard HauxwellArchbishop of YorkMortGeorge II
1783Thomas TateArchbishop of YorkMortGeorge III
1824Benjamin LumleyArchbishop of YorkMortGeorge IV
1849Thomas Myers MAArchbishop of YorkResignationVictoria
1857Octavius Henry Flowers BAArchbishop of YorkDeathVictoria
1880John Lascelles MAArchbishop of YorkDeathVictoria
1905James Rigby MA BClArchbishop of YorkDeathEdward VII
1931Allen MooreHarrogate College TrustDeathGeorge V
1938Basil Earle ShawDiocesan Bd of PatronagePrefermentGeorge VI
1940Peter Martin AndertonDiocesan Bd of PatronageResignationGeorge VI
1958Kenneth Edmond Nelson
MA (Hons) Cantab
Archbishop of YorkPrefermentElizabeth II
1965John Cedric HawkeworthYork Diocesan Bd of PatronagePrefermentElizabeth II
1980Stocks. MA (Hons) Cantab Resignation
The registers date from 1628

Data transcribed by
Haydn Scott.
from photography by Colin Hinson