Hide

Spennithorne parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish in the wapentake of Hang West; 1 mile from Middleham, 2 from Leyburn, 9 from Richmond, 43 from York. Population 249. The Church is a rectory dedicated to St. Michael, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1573-1906
  • Marriages: 1573-1978
  • Burials: 1573-1899

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1637, 1666, 1680, 1687, 1689, 1692-1694, 1696-1700, 1702-1708, 1710,1712, 1713, 1715, 1717, 1721, 1723, 1728, 1730, 1732, 1733, 1735, 1737, 1740-1833, 1835-1845, 1847-1852, (all at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds).

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1637-1847;
  • M 1776-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1573-1617; Manuscript transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  2. C 1669-1680; Manuscript transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  3. C 1784-1812; Manuscript transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  4. M 1650-1679; Manuscript transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  5. B 1652-1680; Manuscript transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  6. B 1813-1924; Manuscript transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.