Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Terrington parish:

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Terrington parish:

Terrington, Rectors transcription:

The List of Rectors in All Saints Church, Terrington.

Rectors of Terrington, Yorkshire

Date of InstitutionReignRectorPatron
1234 July 2Henry IIISimon de NevillN de Nevill
1247 June 14Henry IIIHenry de ScheltonSir Anketill Malorie
1311 May 8Edward IIRobert de WodehouseSir Miles Stapleton
1317 Nov 23Edward IIThomas de GraynghamSir Nicholas Stapleton
1331 Oct 27Edward IIIRoger Basset (Acolite)Sir Nicholas Stapleton
1349 Aug 18Edward IIIWilliam de AppletonSir Anketin Salvayne
1354 April 21Edward IIIJohn de AmpulfordSir Miles Stapleton
1356 Sep 20Edward IIIHenry de MelborneSir Miles Stapleton
1370 May 30Edward IIIJohn de Tyverington
1385 May 21Richard IIThomas de KyrketonThomas Gower
1402 Sep 26Henry IVJohn MidilsburghSir Thomas Metham
1422 Oct 29Henry VIRobert ThwaytesKing Henry VI
  during the minority of
  Thomas Metham a Royal Ward
1440 Dec 15Henry VIThomas TongeThomas Metham
1455 July 9Henry VIJohn Shirwood BDSir John Langton
  for this turn
1467 May 26Edward IVRobert WithamJohn, Earl of Northumberland
  for this turn
1481 Aug 14Edward IVHenry VavasourSir Thomas Metham
1492 May 14Henry VIIThomas DanbySir James Danby
1510 April 4Henry VIIIWilliam BurbankArchbishop of York
1562Elizabeth IEdric Otby
1608 Aug 1James IDaniel Lindley MAThomas Dalby and John Atkinson
  for the late Sir Thomas Danby
1608 Oct 12James IThomas DodsonChristopher Danby
1625 July 20Charles IEdward Hindsley MAJordan Metham
1661 June 6Charles IISamuel PawsonJohn Geldart
1671 Dec 3Charles IIElias MicklethwaiteJohn Geldart
1681 Feb 8Charles IIElias Micklethwaite MARev Marcus Micklethwaite
  for this turn
1721 July 22George ICharles Man MAWilliam Baines Esq for this turn
1734 Dec 18George IILeonard Thompson LL BLeonard Thompson Esq
1765 June 3George IIIJohn Cayley LL BBarnabas Legard Esq
  William Dawson Esq
  and Arthur Ricard Gent for this turn
1823 Oct 3George IVCharles Hall MAJohn Hall Esq
1865 March 28VictoriaSamuel Wimbush MASamuel Wimbush Esq and
  Henry Wimbush Esq

The continued list of Rectors (see also Photo)

1908 Oct 5Edward VIIIJames Wimbush MAJudith Wimbush
1933 Oct 23George VBernard Cockin MAJudith Wimbush
1940 Dec 6George VIThomas Edwards MAJudith Wimbush
1958 Feb 17Elizabeth IIGilbert MoretonArchbishop of York
1964 June 10Elizabeth IIWalter BeswickArchbishop of York
1986 July 31Elizabeth IIEdwin Chapman BAArchbishop of York

Data transcribed by
Haydn Scott.
from photography by Colin Hinson