Well parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.
A parish in the wapentake of Hang East; 3 miles from Masham, 4 from Bedale, 9 from Ripon, 31 from York. Population 370. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. James, in the deanery of Catterick, diocese of Chester.
Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)
- Baptisms: 1560-1700, 1705-1910
- Marriages: 1558-1699, 1705-1990
- Burials: 1558-1698, 1705-1910
- 1656-1663, 1670, 1674, 1681, 1687, 1690*, 1692-1694, 1696-1700,1703, 1706-1709, 1721, 1723, 1725-1730, 1732, 1733, 1735, 1737, 1738, 1740-1800, 1802-1836, 1838-1844, 1846, 1847, 1853-1863, (all at West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds).
* Filed with Glebe Terriers at Chester R.O. Ref: CD/RG-66
- C 1656-1739, 1740-1845;
- M 1740-1837
Transcripts and Indexes:
- CMB 1558-1700, 1705-1812; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office, Society of Genealogists
- C 1813-1850; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office, Society of Genealogists
Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.
The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.