Hide

Whitby parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish and market in the wapentake of Whitby Strand; 20 miles from Scarborough, 21 from Pickering and Guisborough, 22 from Redcar, 28 from Stokesley, 48 from York, 246 from London. Population 8,697. The Church, a specimen of the early Norman architecture, which intervened between the Saxon and Gothic, is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of Cleveland.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

  • Baptisms: 1608-1874
  • Marriages: 1608-1945
  • Burials: 1608-1946

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600, 1609, 1622, 1628, 1631-1637, 1639, 1640, 1661-1663, 1665-1669,1671-1673, 1689, 1691-1700, 1703-1862

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1600-1676, 1749-1862;
  • M 1608-1676, 1749-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1600-1837; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD11
  2. CMB 1600-1676; Printed transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) 84; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. CMB 1676-1837, 14 vols; Typed transcript, with index; Cleveland Archives
  4. CMB 1608-1837; Consolidated Index at Northallerton Record Office, Coastal; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  5. C 1600-1820; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  6. C 1660-1812; MB 1676-1812; Typed transcript, with index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  7. MB 1600-1812; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  8. M 1676-1739; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
  9. M 1745-1760; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists
  10. M 1813-1837; Index only; Joiner Marriage Index
  11. M 1848-1864; Typed transcript, with index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  12. B 1813-1816; Index only; North Yorkshire County Record Office
  13. CMB 1600-1837; East Yorkshire Family History Society(purchase).

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.