Aston parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Aston parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish town in the upper division of Strafforth and Tickhill; 6 miles from Rotherham, 8½ from Sheffield, 9½ from Worksop (Notts), 58 from York. Population, including Aughton 556, which being united, form a township. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (Sheffield Archives)

• Baptisms: 1567-1635, 1665-1969
• Marriages: 1560-1635, 1665-1977
• Burials: 1558-1621, 1665-1913

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1602, 1603, 1612, 1631, 1632, 1637-1639, 1661-1669, 1671, 1672,1676, 1678, 1682-1689, 1692-1714, 1718-1738, 1740-1804, 1806-1837, 1863, 1864

IGI Coverage:

• C 1718-1837;
• M 1718-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. C 1766-1812; Typed transcript, no index; Sheffield Archives
2. M 1560-1824; Typed transcript, no index; Sheffield Archives
3. B 1558-1812; Typed transcript, no index; Sheffield Archives

On line (by Sue Turner):

1. FamilySearch As Aston-with-Aughton C 1567-1635, 1665-1914; Banns 1754-1798; M 1560-1635, 1665-1934; B 1558-1621, 1665-1913 (unindexed, restricted access images)
2. findmypast As Aston cum Aughton, All Saints C 1567-1635, 1665-1912; Banns 1754-1798; M 1560-1635, 1665-1928; B 1558-1621, 1665-1913; As Aston BTs as above (with images)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---