Hide

Birkin parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Birkin parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Barkston Ash, Liberty of Pontefract; 4 miles from Ferrybridge, 7 from Pontefract, 8 from Selby, 22 from York. Population 139. The Church is a rectory, dedicated to St. Mary, in the deanery of the Ainsty.

Deposited Registers (Borthwick Institute of Historical Research.)

  • Baptisms: 1649-1681, 1684-1699, 1718-1873
  • Marriages: 1649-1681, 1684-1699, 1718-1837
  • Burials: 1649-1681, 1684-1699, 1718-1862

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1631-1638, 1642, 1661-1670, 1672, 1673, 1675, 1678, 1679, 1682-1686,1688-1698, 1707-1752, 1754-1862

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1649-1754, 1754-1862, 1862-1873;
  • M 1649-1753, 1754-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1631-1800; Typed transcript, with index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  2. CMB 1684-1698, 1719-1800 (plus BTs for 1675, 1678, 1679, 1682, 1683, 1707-1718); TI; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  3. M 1720-1765; Manuscript transcript, no index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.