Bradford parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Bradford parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish and market town, in Morley division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of Pontefract; 6 miles from Bingley, 8 from Halifax, 10 from Leeds, Keighley and Otley, 14 from Huddersfield, 15 from Wakefield, 34 from York, 196 from London. Population 13,064. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to St. Peter, in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Bradford, microfiche copy only)

• Baptisms: Registers with incumbent (Microfiche 1599-1951)
• Marriages: Registers with incumbent (Microfiche 1599-1983)
• Burials: Registers with incumbent (Microfiche 1599-1919)

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1602-1605, 1628, 1631-1634, 1636-1639, 1661, 1664-1669, 1671-1673,1675, 1676, 1678, 1682-1685, 1687, 1689, 1691-1697, 1699-1706, 1708-1748, 1750-1752, 1754, 1756-1836, 1844, 1845, (1848-1851*)
  * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

• C 1718-1845;
• M 1718-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. M 1596-1708; Typed transcript, no index; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
2. M 1596-1708; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
3. B 1596-1642, 1645-1651, 1661-1665; "The Bradford Antiquary", Vols 1, 2, and New Series, Vols 1, 3
4. B 1681-1837; Index only; Bradford Family History Society
5. B 1631-1837; Transcripts and photographs; Bradford Family History Society (purchase)
6. B 1631-1837; Index only; Bradford Family History Society (purchase)
7. B 1842-1994; St Luke's; Transcripts and MIs; Bradford Family History Society (purchase)
8. C 1813-1855; Holy Trinity, Low Moor (Wibsey Chapel) South Bradford Local History Alliance.
9. B 1838-1992; Holy Trinity, Low Moor (Wibsey Chapel) South Bradford Local History Alliance.
10. C 1857-1940; St. Mark's, Low Moor South Bradford Local History Alliance.
11. B 1857-1954; St. Mark's, Low Moor South Bradford Local History Alliance.
12. C 1842-1922; St. Paul's, Buttershaw South Bradford Local History Alliance.
13. B 1838-1908; St. Paul's, Buttershaw South Bradford Local History Alliance.

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---