Cawthorne parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Cawthorne parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/WRY/WRY_YPR.txt

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of Pontefract; 4 miles from Barnsley, 4½ from Penistone, 9½ from Wakefield, 38 from York. Population 1,518. The Church is a perpetual curacy, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

• Baptisms: 1653-1966
• Marriages: 1654-1948
• Burials: 1653-1961

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1600, 1603-1610, 1613, 1614, 1616-1618, 1621, 1622, 1626-1636, 1638,1639, 1663-1669, 1671, 1673, 1675, 1676, 1682-1684, 1688, 1689, 1691, 1692, 1694, 1696-1716, 1718-1845

IGI Coverage:

• C 1718-1845;
• M 1718-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1654-1812; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD29
2. CMB 1653-1799; Fiche; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase).
3. C 1800-1844; 8 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
4. B 1800-1840; Index only, 3 vols; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---