Hide

Darton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

Darton parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

The place:

A parish town, in the wapentake of Staincross, Liberty of Pontefract; 3½ miles from Barnsley, 6 from Penistone, 8½ from Wakefield, 36½ from York. Population 1,340. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to All Saints, in the deanery of Doncaster.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1539-1560, 1578-1975
  • Marriages: 1539-1560, 1578-1994
  • Burials: 1539-1560, 1578-1972

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600, 1601, 1604-1610, 1612-1617, 1619, 1621-1624, 1626, 1628-1632,1634-1639, 1664-1669, 1671-1673, 1675-1678, 1680, 1682, 1683, 1688, 1689, 1691-1698, 1700-1785, 1787-1842, (1843-1859*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1700-1842;
  • M 1700-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1539-1812; Transcript with index; Yorkshire Parish Register Society (publications of) CD12
  2. CMB 1539-1837; Typed transcript, with index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. M 1800-1837; Index only; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)
  4. B 1800-1844; Index only; Barnsley Family History Society (purchase)

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.