Hide

Dewsbury parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

hide
Hide
Hide

The place:

A parish town, in Agbrigg division of Agbrigg and Morley, Liberty of the manor of Wakefield; 5 miles from Wakefield, 8 from Huddersfield and Leeds, 9 from Bradford, 10 from Halifax, 33 from York, 187 from London. Population 6,380. The Church is a vicarage, dedicated to All Saints in the deanery of Pontefract.

Deposited Registers (West Yorkshire Archive Service, Wakefield)

  • Baptisms: 1538-1950
  • Marriages: 1538-1967
  • Burials: 1538-1859

Bishop's Transcripts:

  • 1600-1602, 1604, 1605, 1607, 1609, 1611, 1612, 1615, 1626, 1630,1632-1637, 1639, 1641, 1661-1669, 1672, 1673, 1675-1678, 1682-1686, 1688-1695, 1697-1726, 1728-1847, (1848-1853*)
    * At West Yorkshire Archive Service, Leeds

IGI Coverage:

  • C 1538-1653, 1738-1847;
  • M 1539-1653, 1738-1837

Transcripts and Indexes:

  1. CMB 1538-1653; PTNI; In parish magazine, S. J. Chadwick; Borthwick Institute of Historical Research
  2. CMB 1653-1699; Typed transcript, no index; Yorkshire Archaeological Society
  3. CMB 1729-1774; Typed transcript, no index; West Yorkshire Archive Service Wakefield, Ref: D9/5-6
  4. B 1813-1830; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  5. B 1831-1846; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  6. B 1847-1859; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  7. M 1829-1837; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  8. C 1653-1691; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  9. C 1692-1722; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  10. C 1723-1746; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  11. C 1747-1763; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  12. C 1764-1776; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  13. C 1777-1786; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  14. C 1787-1796; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  15. C 1796-1801; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  16. C 1802-1806; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  17. C 1807-1812; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  18. C 1813-1819; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  19. C 1819-1825; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  20. C 1825-1831; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  21. C 1832-1836; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  22. C 1837-1843; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  23. C 1844-1851; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  24. C 1852-1860; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  25. C 1861-1869; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  26. C 1870-1877; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  27. C 1878-1891; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  28. C 1892-1912; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  29. C 1913-1950; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  30. B 1653-1742; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  31. B 1743-1789; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  32. B 1790-1812; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  33. M 1653-1722; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  34. M 1722/3-1762; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  35. M 1763-1786; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  36. M 1787-1804; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  37. M 1805-1818; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  38. M 1819-1828; Transcript with index; Huddersfield and District Family History Society (purchase)
  39. M 1538-1650; Typed transcript, with index; Boyd's Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists, York Central Library
  40. M 1700-1746; Typed transcript, with index; Loomes' Yorkshire Marriage Index; Society of Genealogists

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.


The above copyright data was taken from the book
Yorkshire Parish Registers
and was presented to Genuki by the author:
Colin Blanshard Withers.